Skip to main content

Skip to Content

Report Bug

National Blue Ribbon Schools Program

The U.S. Department of Education (USED) annually recognizes public and non-public elementary, middle, and high schools through the National Blue Ribbon Schools (NBRS) program.  The recognition is based on a school's overall academic excellence or their progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

Chief State School Officers nominate public schools annually, usually between December and January.  Schools do not need to request consideration to be included in the nomination process.  Mississippi is allowed to nominate up to four schools annually.  There are annual nomination guidelines that include eligibility requirements and nomination criteria.  At least one-third of the nominated public schools must enroll a high percentage of students from disadvantaged backgrounds.  For more details on the nomination process please refer to the USED website.

The Executive Director of the Office of District and School Performance serves as the state liaison for the NBRS program.

Mississippi Public National Blue Ribbon Schools (Past Five Years):

Caledonia High School, Lowndes County
Laurel Magnet School of the Arts, Laurel School District
Lewisburg Elementary School, DeSoto County

Florence Elementary School, Rankin County
Hayes Cooper Center, Cleveland
Oak Grove Lower Elementary School, Lamar County
Petal High School, Petal

Brandon Elementary School, Brandon
Della Davidson Elementary School, Oxford
East Hancock Elementary School, Kiln
Woolmarket Elementary School, Biloxi

Center Hill High School, Olive Branch
D'Iberville Elementary School, D'Iberville
Madison Station Elementary School, Madison
Popps Ferry Elementary School, Biloxi

Bayou View Elementary School, Gulfport
Northshore Elementary School, Brandon
Pineville Elementary School, Pass Christian