Skip to main content

Skip to Content

Report Bug

MDE Announces New Members of the Mississippi Teacher Council


For Immediate Release: August 5, 2019

JACKSON, Miss. – The Mississippi Department of Education announced today the addition of nearly 200 experienced and highly regarded professionals from across the state to serve on the Mississippi Teacher Council (MTC). The MTC, formed in 2016, now has 381 educators representing schools across the state, including the 181 added this school year.

The purpose of the MTC is to provide feedback to Dr. Carey Wright, state superintendent of education, on the initiatives of the Mississippi Department of Education (MDE), the Mississippi State Board of Education (SBE) and the Mississippi State Legislature. Wright meets with teachers quarterly in different regions of the state. The MTC aims to empower teachers to discuss topics critical to their success in the classroom and how MDE can assist.

“We have representation from urban and rural districts in every region of the state, and I look forward to hearing teachers’ invaluable insights that could improve MDE initiatives. Additionally, the MTC will provide a venue for teachers to become advocates for their students and their profession through input into the decision-making process,” Wright said.

New Members Appointed to Mississippi Teacher Council in 2019-20


Media Contact: 

Patrice Guilfoyle, APR
Director of Communications

Jean Cook, APR
Director of Public Relations