Skip to main content

High contrast

Text Resize

Skip to Content

Toggle Site Search Icon Search
Clear search textbox
Report Bug

State Board Selects Semifinalists for State Board Student Representative Program


For Immediate Release: March 20, 2020

JACKSON, Miss. – The Mississippi State Board of Education (SBE) has selected 10 semifinalists to serve as the SBE junior student representative in the 2020-21 school year.

The SBE student representative program includes one high school junior and one high school senior who serve as non-voting SBE members and provide input on policy decisions that affect Mississippi public schools. The current junior SBE representative, Omar Jamil of DeSoto County Schools, will serve as the senior representative in 2020-21.

The eligible applicant pool for the rising junior representative included 23 students.

Student representatives are responsible for attending monthly SBE meetings and any standing committees or subcommittees to which they are assigned. Student representatives are excused from school to attend SBE meetings as official school business.

The SBE adopted a policy in 2018 outlining the criteria for adding student representatives to the State Board.  

Semi-finalists will be interviewed and up to four finalists will be named. The SBE will interview the finalists and appoint one rising junior.

The 10 semifinalists are as follows:


School District


Ms. Hannah Carson

Monroe County School District

Hatley High School

Mr. Christian Dunne

Starkville Oktibbeha Consolidated School District

Starkville High School

Mr. Hans Elasri

Lamar County School District

Oak Grove High School

Ms. April Guo-Yue

Starkville Oktibbeha Consolidated School District

Starkville High School

Mr. Zion Johnson

Columbus Municipal School District

Columbus High School

Mr. Wykendrick Jones

East Jasper School District

Heidelberg High School

Ms. Anna Lafferty

Lafayette County School District

Lafayette High School

Ms. Andee Robertson

Lamar County School District

Purvis High School

Mr. Weston “Archer” Taylor

Petal School District

Petal High School

Ms. Amy Zhang

Starkville Oktibbeha Consolidated School District

Starkville High School


Media Contact: 

Patrice Guilfoyle, APR
Director of Communications

Jean Cook, APR
Director of Public Relations