Skip to main content

Skip to Content

Report Bug

MDE Awards Three Universities $1.7 Million to Help Prepare New Teachers


For Immediate Release: July 10, 2019

JACKSON, Miss. – The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) recently awarded a $1.7 million, three-year grant to three universities that will help prepare and support highly effective new teachers for high-need school districts. The partnership is part of the Mississippi Teacher Residency Program.

In 2018, the MDE received a $4.1 million grant from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation to establish teacher residency programs in Mississippi to address the shortage of diverse and effective teachers in schools. The grant enables the MDE to provide funds for collaboration between higher education institutions and school district partners to develop undergraduate teacher residency programs.

In grant years 2019-2022, the teacher residency program will support up to 35 new residents per year for four (4) districts: Gulfport School District, Jackson Public School District, Ocean Springs School District, and Sunflower County Consolidated School Districts.

In total, the program will prepare 140 new diverse educators for the students of Mississippi. The following institutions received awards through a competitive process:

  • Delta State University - $599,994
  • Mississippi State University – Meridian - $598,389
  • William Carey University - $600,000


Media Contact: 

Patrice Guilfoyle, APR
Director of Communications

Jean Cook, APR
Director of Public Relations