OFFICE OF CHIEF ACCOUNTABILITY OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items Consent Agenda September 24, 2020

OFFICE OF ACCREDITATION

E. <u>Approval of the appointments to the Commission on School Accreditation</u>

<u>Background Information</u>: Mississippi Code Ann. § 37-17-3 establishes that the Commission on School Accreditation (the Commission) shall be composed of 15 qualified members, with three (3) representatives from each Congressional District as authorized by Miss. Code Ann § 37-17-3. The purpose and duty of the Commission is to continuously review the standards on accreditation and the enforcement thereof and to make recommendations thereon to the State Board of Education. All appointments shall be made by the State Board of Education upon recommendation of the State Superintendent of Public Education.

The following Commission positions are eligible for appointment and the MDE recommends the following individuals to the fill these positions:

• Due to the completion of a second term, there are two (2) vacancies for individuals to serve a First Regular Term (2020-2024).

Congressional District 3	Candice James Educator First Regular Term 2020-2024
Congressional District 3	Lori Brechtel Non-Educator First Regular Term 2020-2024

• Due to the resignation of a Commission member, one (1) Commission member is eligible for appointment to fill an unexpired term (2019-2023).

Congressional District 1	Aisha Maxwell
	Principal
	Unexpired Term 2019-2023

The following Commission position is eligible for appointment:

• One (1) Commission member is eligible for appointment to a first regular term (2020-2024).

Congressional District 5

Pamela Manners Non-Educator First Regular Term 2020-2024

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached