OFFICE OF CHIEF ACCOUNTABILITY OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Item Consent Agenda July 21, 2022

OFFICE OF TEACHING AND LEADING

Q. <u>Approval of the *Mississippi Critical Teacher Shortage Act of 1998:* Designation of 2022-2023 Critical Shortage Subject Areas and Critical Shortage Geographical Areas (Mississippi School Districts)</u>

<u>Background Information</u>: The State Board of Education designates critical shortage subject areas and critical shortage geographical areas (Mississippi School Districts) annually for the purpose of enabling participants to receive loan forgiveness or complete required service obligations in designated shortage areas.

Particularly, at minimum, the designations enable participants to qualify for deferment of loan repayments under the Federal Stafford Program, qualify for loan cancellation under the Federal Perkins Loan, meet obligations under the Paul C. Douglas Teacher Scholarship Program, and fulfill their teaching obligation under the TEACH Grant Program.

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached



2022/2023 Mississippi Critical Shortage Subjects

Special Education	Mathematics
Foreign Language (French, German, Spanish)	Science (Biology, Chemistry, Physics)

2022/2023 Mississippi Geographical Critical Shortages Areas

1 2 3	Natchez-Adams School District Amite County School District	54	Columbus Municipal School District
3	Amite County School District		
		55	Canton Public School District
	Attala County School District	56	Columbia School District
4	Kosciusko School District	57	Marshall Co School District
5	Benton County School District	58	Holly Springs School District
6	North Bolivar Consolidated School District	59	Newton Municipal School District
7	West Bolivar Consolidated School Dist.	60	Union Public School District
8	Calhoun Co School District	61	Philadelphia Public School District
9	Carroll County School District	62	Noxubee County School District
10	Chickasaw County School District	63	Starkville-Oktibbeha Consolidated School District
11	Okolona Separate School District	64	Aberdeen School District
12	Claiborne County School District	65	North Panola School District
13	Quitman School District	66	South Panola School District
14	Choctaw County School District	67	Picayune School District
15	Coahoma County School District	68	Perry Co School District
16	Clarksdale School District	69	Richton School District
17	Clarksdale Collegiate	70	South Pike School District
18	Copiah County School District	71	North Pike Consolidated School District
19	Hazlehurst City School District	72	McComb School District
20	Covington County School District	73	Baldwyn Public School District
21	Desoto County School District	74	Booneville School District
22	Forrest County School District	75	Quitman County School District
23	Forrest County Agriculture High School	76	Pontotoc City Schools
24	Hattiesburg Public School District	77	Scott Co School District
25	Grenada School District	78	Forest Municipal School District
26	Bay St. Louis Waveland School District	79	South Delta School District
27	Pass Christian Public School District	80	Simpson County School District
28	Greene County School District	81	Smith County School District
29	Hinds County School District	82	Stone Co School District
30	Smilow Collegiate	83	Sunflower County Consolidated School District
31	Re-Imagine Prep	84	East Tallahatchie Consolidated School District
32	Jackson Public School District	85	West Tallahatchie Consolidated School District
33	Clinton Public School District	86	Tate County School District
34	Midtown Public	87	North Tippah Consolidated School District
35	Smilow Prep	88	South Tippah School District
36	Ambition Prep	89	New Albany Public School District
37	Holmes County Consolidated School District	90	Tishomingo County SP Mun School. District
38	Humphreys County School District	91	Vicksburg Warren School District
39	Itawamba Co School District	92	Tunica County School District
40	Moss Point School District	93	Hollandale School District
41	East Jasper School District	94	Leland School District
42	Jackson County School District	95	Western Line School District
43	Jefferson County School District	96	Greenville Public School District
44	Jefferson Davis County School District	97	Wayne County School District
45	Laurel School District	98	Webster County School District
46	Kemper County School District	99	Wilkinson County School District
47	Lauderdale County School District	100	Louisville Municipal School District
48	Meridian Public School District	101	Water Valley School District
49	Leake County School District	102	Coffeeville School District
50	Lee County School District	103	Yazoo County School District
51	Lawrence County School District	104	Yazoo City School District
	Greenwood-Leflore Consolidated School District		
52 53	Leflore Legacy		