# OFFICE OF CHIEF ACCOUNTABILITY OFFICER Summary of the State Board of Education Agenda Items June 16, 2022

### OFFICE OF ACCREDITATION

05.C. Action: Award grant to Mississippi School Boards Association to conduct basic and continuing education for local school boards as required by Miss. Code Ann. § 37-3-4 [Goals 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 – MBE Strategic Plan]

Background and Purpose: To prepare and conduct a course of training for basic and continuing education for the local school board members of this state in order for board members to carry out their duties more effectively. The Mississippi School Boards Association shall be responsible for preparing and conducting a course of training for basic education for the local school board members of this state, in order for board members to carry out their duties more effectively and be exposed to new ideas involving school restructuring. The basic course shall be known as the "School Board Member Training Course" and shall consist of at least twelve (12) hours of training.

## Scope of Grant:

• Grant Period: July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2023 (With a liquidation period ending July 12, 2023)

Award Amount: \$62,500

Method of Award: Legislative Mandate

Funding Source: State Funds

This item references Goals 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 of the *Mississippi Board of Education 2018-2022 Strategic Plan.* 

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached



# Mississippi School Boards Association

P.O. Box 203 / Clinton, Mississippi 39060

(601) 924-2001 / Fax: (601) 924-2002 / Toll Free: 1-888-367-6722 www.msbaonline.org

#### **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

President

Cecil Lizana Pass Christian Municipal April 21, 2022

Vice President

Shelia Riley DeSoto County To whom it may concern:

Secretary-Treasurer

Delores McNair Hattiesburg Municipal

**Past President** 

Leroy Matthews, Jr. Quitman County

**District 1** (2021-2023)

Leslie King, Jr. Marshall County Carter Myers Oxford Municipal Michael Thomas Choctaw County

District 2 (2020-2022)

Jamelda Fulton . Western Line Consolidated William Grissett Madison County Evelyn Murray Leland Municipal

District 3 (2021-2023)

Danny Cowart Simpson County Kelvin Jackson Lauderdale County Erin Smith Brookhaven Municipal

District 4 (2020-2022)

Amy Dobson Jackson County W. Barkley Henderson George County

**Total** 

**Presidential Appointees** 

Alvin Smith Wayne County Debra Sturgis-Stamps Copiah County Etťa Taplin North Pike Consolidated Jan Vaughn Greenville Municipal

**Executive Director** 

Denotris R. Jackson, M.Ed

**General Counsel** 

Jim Keith, Esq. Adams and Reese, LLP I understand that Mississippi Department of Education has recommended level funding for 2022-2023. With that in mind, Mississippi School Boards Association requests \$62,500 to assist in the facilitation of the required Basic Course for New School Board Members and

**Basic Course for New School Board Members (\$55,000)** 

the Children First Act training. The funds will be expended as follows:

Research, Development, Presentation	\$28,050
Office Operation – Postage, Phone, Fax, Copies,	
Data Processing and Bookkeeping	\$ 6,600
Contractual Services – Presenters' Expenses, Presenters'	
Mileage, Presenter's Honorarium, Building/Space Rental,	
Equipment Rental, Event Meals	\$ 7,700
Commodities/Other –Materials, Supplies	\$12,650

Childr

ren First Act (\$7,500)	
Research, Development, Presentation	\$ 3,600
Office Operation – Postage, Phone, Fax, Copies,	
Data Processing and Bookkeeping	\$ 2,000
Contractual Services – Presenters' Expenses, Presenters'	
Mileage, Presenter's Honorarium, Building/Space Rental,	
Equipment Rental, Event Meals	\$ 1,450
Commodities/Other –Materials, Supplies	<u>\$ 450</u>

With best regards,

Denotris R. Jackson, M.Ed. MSBA Executive Director

Denotrie Jackson

cc: Dr. Paula Vanderford, Chief of Accountability, Mississippi Department of Education Dr. Jo Ann Malone, Executive Director of Accreditation, Mississippi Department of Education

\$62,500