Minutes of Mississippi Board of Education Meeting

June 15, 2022

The members of the Mississippi Board of Education met in a Special-Called Board meeting at 8:30 a.m. on Wednesday, June 15, 2022, in the 4th Floor Boardroom at Central High School, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi. Board members present at Central High School, 4th Floor Boardroom, Jackson, Mississippi were: Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman, Dr. Wendi Barrett, Dr. Angela Bass, Mr. Glen V. East, Dr. Karen J. Elam, Mr. Bill Jacobs, Dr. Ronnie L. McGehee, and Mr. Matt Miller. Board member absent: Ms. Mary Werner. Student Representative absent: Ms. Micah Hill. Dr. Carey M. Wright was present at Central High School, 4th Floor Boardroom, Jackson, Mississippi.

- I. Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman, Chair, called the Special-Called Board meeting to order at 8:37 a.m.
- II. Ms. Aultman stated that the Board members received a copy of the agenda. Ms. Aultman further stated that since this is a Special-Called meeting, the only business that can be transacted is that which was specified in the call of the meeting, student representative interviews.
- III. On a motion by Dr. Angela Bass, seconded by Dr. Karen J. Elam, the Board voted 7 to 0 to approve the agenda as presented.
- IV. Ms. Aultman reminded the Board members of the competitive process that has taken place to get the Board to this point. Ms. Aultman stated on January 28, 2022, 37 students from across the state submitted applications to MDE in response to the competitive application process that was released on December 1, 2021. Of the 37 applications received, 35 applicants met the eligibility requirements, and under the leadership of Dr. Angela Bass, an Ad-Hoc Screening Committee evaluated these applications in March. On April 7 and 8, 2022, Dr. Bass, Mr. Bill Jacobs, and Dr. Ronnie L. McGehee (members of the School Performance and Accountability Subcommittee) interviewed the 12 semi-finalists and named the top four students as finalists of the program.

Ms. Aultman stated that the four finalists will interview today for the junior representative position for a term that will begin immediately and will end on April 30, 2024. Ms. Aultman stated three of the finalists will be in person and one will be joining via Teams. Ms. Aultman stated the responsibilities of the student representative are outlined on the first page of the interview questionnaire in the folders that have been provided. Ms. Aultman stated that in addition to the questionnaire that will be used during the interviews, the Board members will find the student applications and a Student Representative Selection Form.

Ms. Aultman stated the interviews will be conducted in forty-five-minute increments and the Board members will rotate the interview questions as done in

prior years. Ms. Aultman stated that the Board will begin each interview by viewing the video that each student submitted as part of the application process. Ms. Aultman stated the student will then join the meeting. Ms. Aultman stated that following the interviews, the Board will have time for discussion and each member will rank the students on the Selection Form and submit it to Ms. Sonya Amis. Ms. Aultman stated the ballots will be counted during a brief recess and the results will be announced for subsequent vote by the Board.

The finalists interviewed pursuant to the following schedule:

- Kathryn Newman (Attala County School District) 8:45 a.m.
- John Robert Walker (Starkville-Oktibbeha Consolidated School District) 9:30 a.m.
- Zachary Rifkin (Lamar County School District) via Teams 10:15 a.m.
- Charlie Fruge' (Oxford School District) 11:00 a.m.
- V. The Board discussed the junior student finalists before completing their Student Representative Selection Form.

The meeting recessed for five minutes while the results were compiled.

- VI. On a motion by Dr. Ronnie L. McGehee, seconded by Mr. Bill Jacobs, the Board unanimously voted to approve Mr. Charlie Fruge' of Oxford as the junior student representative whose term will begin immediately and end April 30, 2024.
- VII. On a motion by Mr. Bill Jacobs, seconded by Dr. Wendi Barrett, the Board unanimously voted to approve Ms. Kathryn Newman of Attala County as the junior student representative alternate.

Ms. Aultman thanked Dr. Bass, Dr. Ronnie L. McGehee, and Mr. Bill Jacobs for their hard work on interviewing all the candidates to narrow the selection down to four student representative finalists. Ms. Aultman stated that the Board looked forward to working with the new junior student representative.

Dr. Wright asked that the Board members consider a vote to change the time of the Special-Called Board Budget work session from 2:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m. on June 15, 2022.

On a motion by Mr. Matt Miller, seconded by Dr. Wendi Barrett, the Board unanimously approved to change the time of the Special-Called Board Budget work session from 2:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m. on June 15, 2022.

Mississippi Board of Education – <u>Minutes</u> Page 3 June 15, 2022

VIII. Adjournment

On a motion by Dr. Ronnie L. McGehee, seconded by Dr. Angela Bass, the Board unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 12:05 p.m.

Approved:

Rosemary G. Aultman, Chair

Mississippi Board of Education

Kim S. Benton

Interim Executive Secretary Mississippi Board of Education