OFFICE OF CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items July 14, 2016

OFFICE OF ACADEMIC EDUCATION

01. <u>Information: Report on the Superintendents Academy and recognition of the FY 16 Superintendents Academy members Cohort II</u> [Goal 4 – MBE Strategic Plan]

Executive Summary

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Superintendents Academy is designed to teach advanced leadership skills and strategies to superintendents who are in the early stages of their tenure.

This item references Goal 4 of the *Mississippi Board of Education 2016-2020 Strategic Plan*.

The following candidates have completed the second MDE Superintendents Academy:

Mr. Eddie Anderson, Coffeeville School District

Mr. Glen Beard, Choctaw County School District

Dr. Lundy Brantley, Union Public School District

Mr. Frank Campbell, South Tippah School District

Mr. Scott Cantrell, Monroe County School District

Mr. Michael Cates, Nettleton School District

Mr. Tony Cook, Houston School District

Dr. Matt Dillon, Petal School District

Mr. Billy Ellzey, Forrest County Agricultural High School

Mrs. Tammy Fairburn, Lawrence County School District

Mr. Jay Foster, Senatobia School District

Mr. Dexter Green, Okolona Municipal Separate School District

Mr. Burnell McDonald, West Point Consolidated School District

Mr. Jackie Pollock, Kemper County School District

Dr. Adam Pugh, Lafayette School District

Mr. Will Russell, Jefferson Davis School District

Dr. Daryl Scoggin, Tate County School District

Dr. Gwendolyn Shannon, East Jasper School District

Mrs. Tess Smith, Lamar County School District

Dr. Shannon Vincent, Moss Point School District

Dr. Virginia Young, Newton Municipal School District

Information Only