OFFICE OF CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items Consent Agenda November 10, 2016

OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT The Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science

B. <u>Appointments to the Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science Advisory</u>
Board

The Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science (MSMS) Advisory Board is comprised of eleven (11) members. Membership includes a secondary school principal, a secondary school counselor, a district superintendent, a middle school/elementary representative, an officer of the Mississippi Association for Gifted Children, a non-public/parochial school representative, a MSMS parent of a junior, and four (4) laypersons in accordance with the MSMS Operating Procedures. Each member serves a term for three (3) years with the exception of the parent member who shall serve for the two (2) years that the child remains a student. With the exception of the parent member, members may be reappointed for a single second term. Appointments are made by the State Board of Education from recommendations by the State Superintendent of Education.

• Due to terms expiring, five (5) new members are being recommended.

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached

RECOMMENDATION TO APPOINT AS NEW MEMBERS

NAME	CATEGORY	LOCATION COUNTY/CITY	TERM	TERM EXPIRATION
Dr. Debra Dace	Superintendent	Sunflower County/ Indianola	First	December 2019
Paul King	Layperson	Lauderdale County/ Meridian	First	December 2019
Thalita Hosey	Middle/Elementary School Representative	Jones County/ Laurel Middle School	First	December 2019
Michael Cox	MS Association of Gifted Children Representative	Humphreys County	First	December 2019
Yoluanda Brown	Parent	Rankin County/ Jackson	First	May 2018