OFFICE OF CHIEF OF RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT Summary of State Board of Education Items November 10, 2016

OFFICE OF THE TEACHER CENTER

03. <u>Action: Mississippi Critical Teacher Shortage Act of 1998: Designation of 2016-2017 Critical Shortage Subjects and Geographical Designation Districts</u> [Goal 4 – MBE Strategic Plan]

<u>Background Information</u>: During the 1998 Regular Session, the Mississippi Legislature passed House Bill 609, *The Mississippi Critical Teacher Shortage Act of 1998*, to establish the Critical Needs Teacher Scholarship Program (CNTS) for the purpose of awarding full scholarships to college students agreeing to teach in geographical critical teacher shortage areas (CSA). House Bill 609 also amended Section 37-143-11, MS Code of 1972, to provide that the William F. Winter Teacher Scholars Loan Program shall be a program for persons who wish to teach in any area of the state and clarified the service obligation if recipients fulfill their teaching obligation in a CSA.

The Act also allows the Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) to provide incentive funds (reimbursement of moving expenses, graduate scholarships, home loans/grants) and amended the requirements of the School Administrator Sabbatical Program.

It was established that the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning and the State Board of Education shall jointly promulgate rules and regulations necessary for the proper administration of the Critical Needs Teacher Scholarship Program, and the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning was designated as the administering agency of the program. The Mississippi Teacher Center's major responsibility lies in the recruitment, placement, and support of Critical Needs Teacher Scholarship recipients. In addition, the Teacher Center, in collaboration with the Mississippi Student Financial Aid Office, monitors and reports on the status of each component of the program.

The State Board of Education annually designates critical shortage subject areas and geographical regions annually to enable participants to receive federal loan forgiveness and/or pay back service in designated shortage areas under various programs identified in the *Mississippi Critical Teacher Shortage Act of 1998*. In addition, the designations enable participants to qualify for deferment of loan repayments under the Federal Stafford Program, to qualify for loan cancellation under the Federal Perkins Loan, reduces recipients teaching obligation under the Paul C. Douglas Teacher Scholarship Program and enables recipients to fulfill their teaching obligation under the TEACH Grant Program.

This item references Goal 4 of the *Mississippi Board of Education 2016-2020 Strategic Plan.*

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached

2016-2017 Subject Shortage Areas:

Special Education, Mathematics, Science (Biology, Chemistry, Physics) Foreign Language (French, German, Spanish)

2016-2017 Geographical Shortage Areas [by School District]:

Canton

Carroll County

Claiborne County

Clarksdale

Cleveland

Coahoma County

Coahoma County AHS

Copiah County

Durant Public

East Jasper

East Tallahatchie Consolidated

Greene County

Greenville Public

Greenwood Public

Hazlehurst City

Hollandale

Holly Springs

Holmes County

Humphreys County

Jefferson County

Kemper County

Leflore County

Leland

Marshall County

Montgomery County

North Bolivar

North Panola

Noxubee County

Quitman County

South Delta

South Pike

Sunflower County

Tate County

Tunica County

West Bolivar

West Jasper

West Tallahatchie

Western Line

Wilkinson County

Yazoo City

Yazoo County

Chapter 70: Mississippi Criteria for Designation of Geographical Shortage Areas

Rule 70.1 Mississippi Criteria for Designation of Geographical Shortage Areas. In accordance with the "Mississippi Critical Teacher Shortage Act of 1998", the purpose of which is to attract qualified teachers to those geographical areas of the state and subject area shortage school districts as designated by the State Board of Education, the criteria outlined below shall be used to designate those areas.

- 1. Mississippi public school districts with 60 or more teaching positions having 10% or more of their teaching staff not appropriately licensed shall be declared a geographic shortage area. Not appropriately licensed shall include teachers teaching out of field, teachers teaching with no certificate, and long term substitutes.
- 2. Mississippi public school districts with less than 60 teaching positions having 15% or more of their teaching staff not appropriately licensed shall be declared a geographic shortage area.
- 3. Mississippi public school districts having 30% or more of their teaching staff with 25 or more years of experience shall be declared a geographic shortage area.
- 4. Mississippi public school districts that were named as geographical shortage areas for two or more years preceding enactment of this methodology shall continue to be named as geographical shortage areas.
- 5. Additional Mississippi public school districts must meet at least two of the aforementioned criteria (numbers 1 or 2 & 3) in order to be designated as a geographic shortage area of the state.

When there is a shortage of funds, priority shall be given to school districts that meet at least three of the aforementioned criteria in designating school districts as a Subject Area Shortage District. Refer to GBC-3 for subject area shortage.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. § 37-1-3 (Revised 6/2004)