# OFFICE OF CHIEF OPERATIONS OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Items June 18-19, 2015

#### OFFICE OF EDUCATOR LICENSURE

16. Approval of critical shortage subject areas and geographical regions as defined by the Mississippi Legislature for the following programs: Federal Stafford Program, Federal Perkins Loan, Paul C. Douglas Teacher Scholarship Program, Teacher Education Assistance for College and Higher Education (TEACH) Grant Program, Critical Needs Teacher Scholarship Program, and the William Winter Teacher Scholar Loan Program [Goal 4 – MDE Strategic Plan]

## Background Information:

Annually, the State Board of Education designates critical shortage subject areas and geographical regions. These designations enable participants to receive loan forgiveness or pay back service in designated shortage areas under the Critical Needs Teacher Scholarship Program and the William Winter Teacher Scholar Loan Program.

In addition, the designations enable participants to qualify for deferment of loan repayments under the Federal Stafford Program, to qualify for loan cancellation under the Federal Perkins Loan, reduces recipients teaching obligation under the Paul C. Douglas Teacher Scholarship Program and enables recipients to fulfill their teaching obligation under the TEACH Grant Program.

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached

#### Mississippi Critical Subject Shortage Areas

Biology Chemistry French German Mathematics
Physics
Spanish
Special Education

## Geographic Shortage Areas by School District

AMITE CO SCHOOL DIST
ATTALA CO SCHOOL DIST
BENTON CO SCHOOL DIST
CARROLL CO SCHOOL DIST
CLAIBORNE CO SCHOOL DIST
CLARKSDALE MUN SCH DIS
CLINTON PUBLIC SCHOOL DIST

COAHOMA AHS
COAHOMA CO SCHOOL DIST
COFFEEVILLE SCHOOL DIS
DURANT PUBLIC SCHOOL D
EAST JASPER CONSOLIDAT
GREENVILLE PUBLIC

HAZLEHURST CITY SCHOOL HOLLY SPRINGS SCHOOL D HOLMES COUNTY SCHOOL DIST

GREENWOOD PUBLIC SCHOOL DIST

HOUSTON SCHOOL DIST
HUMPHREYS CO SCHOOL DI
JACKSON PUBLIC SCHOOL DIST
JEFFERSON DAVIS CO SCHOOL DIST
LAUREL SCHOOL DIST

LAUREL SCHOOL DIST
LEFLORE CO SCHOOL DIST
MCCOMB SCHOOL DIST
MERIDIAN PUBLIC SCHOOL DIST
MONTGOMERY CO SCHOOL D
NATCHEZ-ADAMS
NEW ALBANY SCHOOL DIST

**NEWTON CO SCHOOL DIST NEWTON MUNICIPAL SCHOOL DIST** NORTH BOLIVAR CONS SCH NOXUBEE CO SCHOOL DIST PERRY CO SCHOOL DIST PICAYUNE SCHOOL DIST PONTOTOC CITY SCHOOL DIST QUITMAN CO SCHOOL DIST **QUITMAN SCHOOL DIST** SOUTH DELTA SCHOOL DIS SUNFLOWER COUNTY CONSOLIDATED TATE CO SCHOOL DIST UNION PUBLIC SCHOOL DI VICKSBURG WARREN SCHOO WAYNE COUNTY SCHOOL DIST WEST BOLIVAR CONS SCH WEST TALLAHATCHIE S.D. WESTERN LINE SCHOOL DIST WILKINSON CO SCH DIST YAZOO CITY SCHOOLS YAZOO CO SCHOOLS