OFFICE OF OPERATIONS Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items July 23, 2014

OFFICE OF HEALTHY SCHOOLS AND CHILD NUTRITION

20. Approval of grant awards for a special project appropriated by the Mississippi Legislature and identified as the Mary Kirkpatrick-Haskell, Mary Sprayberry School Nurse Program in House Bill 1476, 2014 Legislative Session

<u>Purpose</u>: The Mississippi Legislature appropriated funds for the special project identified in House Bill 1476, 2014 Legislative Session, as the Mary Kirkpatrick-Haskell, Mary Sprayberry Act, Public School Nurse Program. This bill directs that the funds be used to support the School Nurse Intervention Program established in Section 37-14-3 of the Mississippi Code. Each year the funds are distributed in the form of competitive grants totaling \$50,000 each. A district may receive more than one award based on need to support multiple clinics. The grant agreement includes specific benchmarks for the districts receiving these funds.

Scope of Grant:

Grant Period:

July 18, 2014 - June 30, 2015

Award Amount:

\$ 3,600,000

Method of Award:

Legislative Mandate

<u>Funding Source</u>: State General Funds (House Bill 1476, 2014 Legislative Session). Transferred from the Mississippi Department of Health via a memorandum of understanding.

Summary of Selection Process:

Requests for Applications were solicited and a competitive selection process was utilized to award the grants. These awards are renewable for 4 years dependent on the continued legislative appropriation.

Scoring Criteria:

- A. School Readiness
- B. Quality of Project Design
- C. School Profile and Budget
- D. Support of MDE priorities and Program Objectives
- E. Student to Nurse ratio

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached

Mary Kirkpatrick-Haskell-Mary Sprayberry School Nurse Program Grants Fiscal Year 2015

Grantee:	Award Amount
Alcorn County School District*	\$100,000
Amory School District	\$ 50,000
Bay St. Louis-Waveland School District	\$ 50,000
Benoit School District	\$ 50,000
Benton County School District	\$ 50,000
Brookhaven School District	\$ 50,000
Carroll County School District	\$ 50,000
Chickasaw County School District	\$ 50,000
Coffeeville School District	\$ 50,000
Columbia School District*	\$100,000
Corinth School District*	\$100,000
Desoto County School District*	\$100,000
East Tallahatchie*	\$100,000
Forrest County AHS	\$ 50,000
Greene County School District	\$ 50,000
Grenada School District	\$ 50,000
Harrison County School District*	\$100,000
Hazlehurst School District*	\$100,000
Hollandale School District	\$ 50,000
Humphreys County School District*	\$100,000
Jones County School District*	\$100,000
Lamar County School District	\$ 50,000
Lauderdale County School District	\$ 50,000
Long Beach School District	\$ 50,000
Marion County School District*	\$100,000
McComb School District*	\$100,000
Montgomery County School District	\$ 50,000
New Albany School District*	\$100,000
Newton Municipal School District	\$ 50,000
Noxubee County School District	\$ 50,000
Oxford School District	\$ 50,000
Pascagoula School District	\$ 50,000
Pearl Public School District*	\$100,000
Pearl River County School District	\$ 50,000
Perry County School District	\$ 50,000
Petal School District*	\$100,000
Poplarville School District*	\$100,000
Quitman School District*	\$100,000
Scott County School District*	\$100,000
Simpson County School District	\$ 50,000

Smith County School District	\$ 50,000
South Pike School District	\$100,000
Tishomingo County School District	\$ 50,000
Tupelo Public School District	\$ 50,000
UMMC/Jackson Public and South Delta * †	\$150,000
Union County School District	\$ 50,000
Vicksburg-Warren School District*	\$100,000
Water Valley School District	\$ 50,000
West Jasper School District	\$ 50,000
West Tallahatchie School District	\$ 50,000
Winona School District	\$ 50,000

Total Grant Awards for Special Projects \$3,600,000

^{*} Two clinics in the district are receiving grant awards.

[†] UMMC applied on behalf of the Jackson Public Schools, Johnson and Brown Elementary Schools, and the South Delta School District. Funds will be awarded directly to UMMC.