OFFICE OF INSTRUCTIONAL ENHANCEMENT AND INTERNAL OPERATIONS Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items Consent Agenda October 17-18, 2013

OFFICE OF HEALTHY SCHOOLS

Office of Child Nutrition

B. Approval of grant awards for a special project appropriated by the Mississippi Legislature and identified as the Mary Kirkpatrick-Haskell, Mary Sprayberry School Nurse Program in House Bill 1648, 2013 Legislative Session

<u>Purpose</u>: The Mississippi Legislature appropriated funds for the special project identified in House Bill 1648, 2013 Legislative Session, as the Mary Kirkpatrick-Haskell, Mary Sprayberry Act, Public School Nurse Program. This bill directs that the funds be used to support the School Nurse Intervention Program established in Section 37-14-3 of the Mississippi Code. Each year the funds are distributed to districts in the form of grants totaling \$50,000 each. A district may receive more than one award to support multiple clinics. Grantees must meet specific benchmarks in order to continue in the program.

Scope of Grant:

• Grant Period: July 1, 2013 - June 30, 2014

• Award Amount: \$ 3,600,000 (\$50,000 per clinic)

Method of Award: Legislative Mandate

<u>Funding Source</u>: State General Funds (House Bill 1648, 2013 Legislative Session). Transferred from the Mississippi Department of Health via a Memorandum of Understanding which was executed in August.

Summary of Selection Process:

A competitive selection process was utilized to award the grants initially. This is the final award period for this competitive grant cycle.

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached

Mary Kirkpatrick-Haskell, Mary Sprayberry School Nurse Program Grants Fiscal Year 2014

<u>Grantee</u>	Award Amount
Benoit School District	\$50,000
Benton County School District	\$50,000
Brookhaven School District	\$50,000
Carroll County School District	\$50,000
Chickasaw County School District	\$50,000
Choctaw County School District	\$50,000
Claiborne County School District	\$50,000
Cleveland School District	\$50,000
Coffeeville School District	\$50,000
Columbia School District	\$50,000
Desoto County School District**	\$100,000
East Jasper School District	\$50,000
Forrest County AHS	\$50,000
Forrest County School District	\$50,000
George County School District	\$50,000
Greene County School District	\$50,000
Gulfport School District	\$50,000
Harrison County School District	\$50,000
Hazlehurst School District	\$50,000
Hollandale School District	\$50,000
Humphreys County School District	\$50,000
Indianola School District	\$50,000
Jefferson Davis County School District	\$50,000
Jones County School District**	\$100,000
Lafayette County School District	\$50,000
Lauderdale County School District	\$50,000
Lawrence County School District	\$50,000
Leake County School District	\$50,000
Leland School District	\$50,000
Louisville Municipal School District	\$50,000
Lumberton School District	\$50,000
Madison County School District	\$50,000
Marion County School District**	\$100,000
McComb School District**	\$100,000
Montgomery County School District	\$50,000
Neshoba County School District	\$50,000
Nettleton School District**	\$100,000
New Albany School District	\$50,000
Newton Municipal School District	\$50,000

<u>Grantee</u>	Award Amount
North Tippah School District	\$50,000
Noxubee County School District	\$50,000
Ocean Springs School District**	\$100,000
Oxford School District	\$50,000
Pearl Public School District	\$50,000
Pearl River County School District	\$50,000
Perry County School District	\$50,000
Petal School District	\$50,000
Poplarville School District**	\$100,000
Scott County School District	\$50,000
Simpson County School District	\$50,000
Smith County School District	\$50,000
South Delta School District	\$50,000
South Panola School District	\$50,000
Sunflower County School District	\$50,000
Tishomingo County School District	\$50,000
Tunica County School District	\$50,000
Tupelo Public School District	\$50,000
UMC/Jackson Public School District*	\$50,000
Union Public School District	\$50,000
Vicksburg-Warren School District**	\$100,000
Wayne County School District	\$50,000
West Jasper School District	\$50,000
West Tallahatchie School District	\$50,000
Wilkinson County School District	<u>\$50,000</u>
Total Grant Awards for Special Projects	\$3,600,000

^{*}The grant is awarded directly to UMC because it operates the school-based clinic at Johnson Elementary. This funding arrangement was established when this program was managed by the Mississippi Department of Health.

^{**}Two clinics in the district are receiving grant awards.

MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION Office of Healthy Schools Executive Summary of Performance Evaluations For 2012-13

As part of the grant agreement, the districts agree to meet established benchmarks. These include licensure, attendance at trainings, monthly data collection, tobacco education, school health council/wellness policy and funding supporting the school nurse program, and maintaining or improving the nurse to student ratio toward the national recommendation of 1:750 healthy students. The components that are evaluated for each grant recipient are as follows:

- 1) Licensure verification
- 2) School Health Council and Wellness policy
- 3) Attendance at fall Training
- 4) Monthly data collection
- 5) Tobacco education

If the evaluations identify deficiencies, an on-site review is conducted to provide additional program guidance and training opportunities. Of the 64 districts participating, 53 districts were in full compliance. Eleven other districts received site visits, and corrective actions were taken and findings resolved.