## OFFICE OF SCHOOL IMPROVEMENT, OVERSIGHT AND RECOVERY Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items October 17-18, 2013

## OFFICE OF SAFE AND ORDERLY SCHOOLS

#### 04. <u>Approval to award competitive grants for the Mississippi Community Oriented</u> <u>Policing Services in Schools (MCOPS) grant program</u>

<u>Purpose</u>: During the 2013 legislative session Section 37-3-82, Mississippi Code of 1972, Annotated, established the Mississippi Community Oriented Policing Services Grant for the utilization of school resource officers (SRO) within the K-12 education system. The bill allocates up to \$10,000 per officer to pay the salary and benefits of school resource officers. The funding must be matched from local funds on a 50/50 matching basis.

#### Scope of Grant:

•	Grant Period:	October 18, 2013 – June 30, 2014
•	Award Amount:	\$1,570,000
•	Method of Award:	Competitive

Funding Source: Section 37-3-82, Mississippi Code of 1972, Annotated

## Summary of Selection Process:

A competitive grant selection process was utilized to award the grants.

Scoring Criteria:

- A. Description of Need
- B. Plan of Action
- C. Current Staff and Students
- D. Current Limitations

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached

# Mississippi Community Oriented Policing Services Grant (MCOPS)

District	Officers Funded	Award Amount
Aberdeen School District	2	\$20,000
Amory School District	1	\$10,000
Biloxi Public School District	3	\$30,000
Clinton Public School District	2	\$20,000
Columbus Municipal School District	6	\$60,000
Covington County School District	1	\$10,000
Durant Public School District	1	\$10,000
East Tallahatchie School District	2	\$20,000
Forest Municipal School District	1	\$10,000
Forrest County School District	2	\$20,000
Forrest County Agricultural High School	1	\$10,000
Franklin County School District	1	\$10,000
George County School District	2	\$20,000
Grenada School District	3	\$30,000
Gulfport School District	9	\$90,000
Hancock County School District	2	\$20,000
Harrison County School District	18	\$180,000
Hattiesburg Public School District	4	\$40,000
Hazlehurst City School District	1	\$10,000
Hinds County School District	10	\$100,000
Holly Springs School District	1	\$10,000
Holmes County School District	1	\$10,000
Jackson County School District	3	\$30,000
Jefferson County School District	1	\$10,000
Kosciusko School District	1	\$10,000
Lamar County School District	10	\$100,000
Laurel School District	5	\$50,000
Leflore County School District	2	\$20,000
Lumberton Public School District	1	\$10,000
Meridian Public School District	5	\$50,000
Moss Point School District	5	\$50,000
Neshoba County School District	2	\$20,000
New Albany School District	3	\$30,000
North Bolivar School District	1	\$10,000
North Panola School District	2	\$20,000
Ocean Springs School District	4	\$40,000
Pass Christian School District	3	\$30,000
Pearl River County School District	3	\$30,000
Perry County School District	1	\$10,000
Petal Public School District	5	\$50,000
Poplarville School District	1	\$10,000

## Mississippi Community Oriented Policing Services Grant (MCOPS)

District	Officers Funded	Award Amount
Senatobia School District	3	\$30,000
Simpson County School District	1	\$10,000
South Panola School District	6	\$60,000
Starkville School District	1	\$10,000
Tishomingo County Schools	7	\$70,000
Water Valley School District	2	\$20,000
Wayne County School District	3	\$30,000
West Bolivar School District	1	\$10,000
West Jasper School District	1	\$10,000
Total	157	\$1,570,000