

Minutes of the Commission on School Accreditation Special Called Teleconference meeting August 29, 2024 8:30 a.m.

A special called meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation (CSA or Commission) took place via teleconference and video means from the Central High School Building, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi at 8:30 a.m. on Thursday, August 29, 2024. The public was invited to view the livestreaming via the MDE YouTube Channel or in person in the Senator Grey Ferris Board Room.

Commission members in attendance via teleconference included:

Kelle Barfield, Vicksburg, MS
Dr. Carla Evers, Pass Christian, MS
Reginald Goins, Sarah, MS
Patrice Guilfoyle, Jackson, MS
Jeremy Hamm, Meridian, MS
Toni Kersh, Jackson, MS
Pamela Manners, (Chair), Biloxi, MS
Aisha Maxwell, Horn Lake, MS
Dr. Scott Rimes, Brandon, MS
Dr. Sarah Wilborn, Ellisville, MS

Members absent:

Anthony Bryant Trosiki Pettis Brad Stevens Ingrid Williams

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) staff members/representatives present included:

Dr. Jo Ann Malone, Associate State Superintendent/Executive Secretary, Office of Accreditation Dr. Paula Vanderford, Chief Accountability Officer Erin Meyer, General Counsel Melissa Biggs, Office of Accreditation Lori Hartley, Office of Accreditation J. Christopher Haynes, Office of Accreditation Shulawnda Johnson, Office of Accreditation Dawn Tassin, Office of Accreditation Andrea Hanson, Office of Accountability

Commission on School Accreditation – Minutes August 29, 2024

Brian McGairty, Director, Safe and Orderly schools Jonathan Dennis, Special Assistant Attorney General, served as legal counsel to the Commission.

I. Announcement of Quorum and Call to Order

Ms. Pamela Manners, Chair of the CSA, opened the Commission meeting and conducted a roll call of the Commission members.

Ms. Manners announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

Ms. Manners called the meeting to order at 8:35 a.m.

II. Adoption of Agenda

On a motion by Kelle Barfield, seconded by Dr. Carla Evers, the Commission voted unanimously to adopt the agenda.

III. Action: Election of the 2024-2025 Chair of the Commission on School Accreditation

Dr. Carla Evers nominated Pamela Manners for Chair of the Commission on School Accreditation.

On a motion by Dr. Carla Evers, seconded by Dr. Scott Rimes, the Commission voted unanimously to elect Pamela Manners 2024-2025 Chair of the Commission on School Accreditation.

IV. Action: Election of the 2024-2025 Vice-Chair of the Commission on School Accreditation

Pamela Manners nominated Dr. Carla Evers for Vice-Chair of the Commission on School Accreditation.

On a motion by Kelle Barfield, seconded by Patrice Guilfoyle, the Commission voted unanimously to elect Dr. Carla Evers 2024-2025 Vice-Chair of the Commission on School Accreditation.

V. Action: Approval to upgrade the accreditation status of the George County School District from PROBATION to ACCREDITED.

Dr. Jo Ann Malone presented the information to the Commission.

Commission on School Accreditation – Minutes August 29, 2024

On a motion by Dr. Sarah Wilborn, seconded by Aisha Maxwell, the Commission voted unanimously to upgrade the accreditation status of the George County School District from PROBATION to ACCREDITED.

VI. Action: Approval to upgrade the accreditation status of the Wilkinson County School District from PROBATION to ACCREDITED.

Dr. Jo Ann Malone presented the information to the Commission.

On a motion by Dr. Carla Evers, seconded by Dr. Scott Rimes, the Commission voted unanimously to upgrade the accreditation status of the Wilkinson County School District from PROBATION to ACCREDITED.

VII. Action: Consideration of waiver request from Itawamba County School District for Process Standard 2.1 (Principal Duties) of the *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards*, 2024, for School Year 2024-2025

Dr. Jo Ann Malone presented this information to the Commission. Brian McGairty answered a question from Dr. Scott Rimes.

On a motion by Dr. Carla Evers, seconded by Dr. Sarah Wilborn, the Commission voted unanimously to grant a waiver request from Itawamba County School District for Process Standard 2.1 (Principal Duties) of the *Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards*, 2024, for the School Year 2024-2025.

VIII. Action: Approval of meeting dates of the Commission on School Accreditation for the 2024-2025 school year

On a motion by Jeremy Hamm, seconded by Reginald Goins, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the meeting dates of the Commission on School Accreditation for the 2024 - 2025 school year:

September 2024 Tuesday, September 17, 2024*
October 2024 Tuesday, October 15, 2024**
December 2024 Thursday, December 5, 2024
February 2025 Thursday, February 6, 2025
April 2025 Thursday, April 3, 2025
June 2025 Thursday, June 5, 2025

^{*}Meeting to approve the 2024-2025 Mississippi Statewide Accountability Results (based on the 2023-2024 School Year)

^{**}Meeting to assign the 2024-2025 Accreditation Statuses (based on the 2023-2024 School Year)

Commission on School Accreditation – Minutes August 29, 2024

IX. Adjournment

On a motion by Kelle Barfield, seconded by Jeremy Hamm, the Commission voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 8:56 a.m.

APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION

09/17/24

(Month) (Day)

(Year)

Chair of the Commission

PManners

Executive Secretary of the Commission