

In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-3-2(3) and 25-41-5, the members of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development (Commission) met at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, July 7, 2023, in the 4th Floor Board Room located at Central High School Office Building, 359 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201, with some members present via teleconference.

Members Attending:

James Creel Rebecca Gray Mary Hill-Taylor Kim Hubbard William D Murphy

Members Absent:

William Hamilton John Howard

Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Personnel Attending:

Dr. Debra Burson Scott DeJong Deborah Stoulig Anissa Stubbs Dawn Tassin Lori Hartley

Special Assistant Attorney General Attending:

Jonathan Dennis

I. Call to Order

Chairman David Martin called the meeting to order on Friday, September 8, 2023, at 10:10 a.m.

Dr. Teresa Jayroe Dr. Bernell Kelly David Martin Dr. Teresa Poole Dr. Shelly Simmons Etta Taplin Dylan Baldwin Aaron D. Wilson

II. Establishment of a Quorum

James Creel	Present, via teleconference, Ridgeland, MS		
Rebecca Gray	Present, via teleconference, Iuka, MS		
William Hamilton	Absent		
Mary Hill-Taylor	Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS		
John Howard	Absent		
Kim Hubbard	Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS		
Dr. Teresa Jayroe	Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS		
Dr. Bernell Kelly	Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS		
David Martin	Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS		
Dr. Teresa Poole	Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS		
Dr. Shelly Simmons	Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS		
Etta Taplin	Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS		
Dylan Baldwin	Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS		
Aaron D. Wilson	Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS		
William D. Murphy	Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS		
David Martin Dr. Teresa Poole Dr. Shelly Simmons Etta Taplin Dylan Baldwin Aaron D. Wilson	Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS		

A quorum of the Commission is present at the locations stated for conducting a meeting through in-person and /or teleconference means.

III. Approval of the minutes of the July 7, 2023, meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development.

On a motion from Kim Hubbard, seconded by Mary Hill-Taylor, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the July 7, 2023, meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development.

IV. Adoption of Agenda

On a motion from Aaron D. Wilson, seconded by Dr. Teresa Jayroe, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the agenda.

V. Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Updates (Dr. Cory Murphy)

Dr. Cory Murphy did not have any updates from MDE but recognized this meeting of the Commission as being the first in-person meeting of the Commission since March 2020. Dr. Murphy welcomed everyone to the meeting and made notice of the two members who were meeting via teleconference. Further, Dr. Murphy welcomed the new members of the Commission – Dylan Baldwin, the Community College representative from District 1, Aaron D. Wilson, the

Teacher representative from District 4, and William F. Hamilton, the Administrator representative from District 2.

VI. Approval of Jackson State University's request to add a Child Development (Pre-Kindergarten – Kindergarten (PreK-K) supplemental endorsement to its existing Elementary Education (K-3) approved licensure-track educator preparation program (Dr. Debra Burson)

On a motion from Etta Taplin, seconded by Bernell Kelly, the Commission voted unanimously to approve Jackson State University's request.

VII. Approval of the University of Southern Mississippi's request to modify its existing approved Child Development (Pre-Kindergarten – Kindergarten (PreK-K) master's degree licensure-track educator preparation program (Dr. Debra Burson)

On a motion from Kim Hubbard, and a second by Dylan Baldwin, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the University of Southern Mississippi's request.

VIII. Approval of ratifications of agreed order and/or voluntary surrenders (Mr. Scot DeJong)

Mr. Scott DeJong reported on agreed orders being presented for consideration. On a motion by Mary Hill-Taylor, seconded by Dr. Teresa Poole, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the agreed orders presented for the following educators:

330226 Amanda Minor	246542 Bryant Humphrey	267016 Lewis Green
221985 Crystal Laflore	317051 Ruby Jennings	208487 Parthenia Fields
296191 Margaret Baker		

IX. Other Business

Chairman David Martin announced the proposed 2024 meeting dates for the Regular Meetings of the Licensure Commission:

i.	January 5, 2024	iv.	July 12, 2024 (moved to second Friday of Month)
ii.	March 1, 2024	v.	September 6, 2023
iii.	May 3, 2024	vi.	November 1, 2024

On a motion from Etta Taplin, seconded by William D. Murphy, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the meeting dates.

X. Adjournment

On a motion from Mary Hill-Taylor, seconded by Aaron D. Wilson, the Commission voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 10:32 a.m.

Approved:

David Martin, Chair Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development

Cory Murphy, PH.D., Executive Secretary Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development