

Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development Special Called Teleconference Meeting September 14, 2023 10:00 a.m.

In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-3-2(3) and 25-41-5, the members of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development (Commission) met in a Special Called meeting at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, September 14, 2023. This Special Called meeting was conducted via teleconference, with some Mississippi Department of Education staff members participating from the 4th Floor Board Room located at Central High School Office Building, 359 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201.

Members Attending:

Rebecca Gray William Hamilton

Mary Hill-Taylor Kim Hubbard Dr. Teresa Jayroe

Dr. Bernell Kelly David Martin

Dr. Teresa Poole

Dr. Shelly Simmons

William D Murphy

Aaron Wilson

Dylan Baldwin

Members Absent:

Dr. Shelly Simmons James Creel

Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Personnel Attending:

Dr. Cory Murphy

Erin Meyer

Dr. Paula Vanderford

Dawn Tassin

Tamika Lipsey

Special Assistant Attorney General Attending:

Jonathan Dennis

I. Call to Order

Chairman David Martin called the meeting to order on Thursday, September 14, 2023, at 10:04 a.m. and conducted a roll call of the Commission members.

II. Establishment of a Quorum

James Creel Absent

Rebecca Gray Present, via teleconference, Iuka, MS
William Hamilton Present, via teleconference, Oxford, MS
Mary Hill-Taylor Present, via teleconference, Choctaw, MS

John Howard Absent

Kim Hubbard Present, via teleconference, Flowood, MS
Dr. Teresa Jayroe Present, via teleconference, Starkville, MS
Dr. Bernell Kelly Present, via teleconference, Gulfport, MS
David Martin Present, via teleconference, Lincoln County, MS
Dr. Teresa Poole Present, via teleconference, Hattiesburg, MS

Dr. Teresa Poole
Dr. Shelly Simmons
Present, via teleconference, Hattiesburg, MS
Present, via teleconference, Gulfport, MS

Etta Taplin Absent

Dylan Baldwin Present, via teleconference, Tupelo, MS
William Murphy Present, via teleconference, Indianola, MS
Aaron Wilson Present, via teleconference, Bassfield, MS

Chairman Martin announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

III. Adoption of the Agenda

On a motion from Kim Hubbard, seconded by Teresa Jayroe, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the agenda.

IV. Approval to begin the Administrative Procedures Act process: To revise Miss. Admin. Code 7 - 4.: Part 4: Licensure Guidelines K-12, to amend criteria regarding educator licensure preparation and other programs completed outside the state of Mississippi (Dr. Cory Murphy)

D. Cory Murphy, Executive Secretary Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development, presented the request to the commission. Dr. Murphy gave a brief overview of the reasoning behind the request. Dr. Murphy explained that many local school districts were unable to hire highly qualified applicants who were first licensed out of state because of current licensure guidelines.

On a motion from William Murphy, seconded by Dylan Baldwin, with questions/discussion from Teresa Jayroe, Teresa Poole, and Bernell Kelly answered by Dr. Murphy, the Commission voted unanimously to approve beginning the Administrative Procedures Act process.

V. Adjournment

Approved

On a motion by Bernell Kelly, seconded by Teresa Jayroe, the Commission voted unanimously to adjourn at 10:20 a.m.

David Martin, Chair

Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and

Development

Cory Murphy, Ph.D., Executive Secretary Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development