

# Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development Regular Teleconference Meeting July 7, 2023 10:00 a.m.

In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-3-2(3) and 25-41-5, the members of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development (Commission) met at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, July 7, 2023, in the 4<sup>th</sup> Floor Board Room located at Central High School Office Building, 359 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201, with some members present via teleconference.

## **Members Attending:**

Michibers Attenuing.		
John Howard	William Hamilton	Rebecca Gray
Etta Taplin	Dr. Teresa Jayroe	Kim Hubbard
David Martin	Dr. Teresa Poole	Mary Hill-Taylor
Aaron Wilson	William Murphy	Dr. Bernell Kelly
	Dylan Baldwin	

#### **Members Absent:**

Dr. Shelly Simmons James Creel

# Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Personnel Attending:

Dr. Cory Murphy
Dr. Courtney Van Cleve
Deborah Stoulig
Tonya Gipson
Timothy Scott
Tamika Lipsey
Lori D. Hartley
Dr. Debra Burson
Scott DeJong
Dr. Lea Johnson
Brett Robinson
Alan Burrow
Wendy Clemmons
Dawn Tassin

## **Special Assistant Attorney General Attending:**

Kristi Kennedy

#### I. Call to Order

Chairman David Martin called the meeting to order on Friday, July 7, 2023, at 10:01 a.m.

## II. Establishment of a Quorum

James Creel Absent

Rebecca Gray
William Hamilton
Mary Hill-Taylor
John Howard
Dr. Teresa Jayroe
Dr. Bernell Kelly
Present, via teleconference, Iuka, MS
Present, via teleconference, Oxford, MS
Present, via teleconference, Bailey, MS
Present, via teleconference, Atlanta, GA
Present, via teleconference, Flowood, MS
Present, via teleconference, Starkville, MS
Present, via teleconference, Gulfport, MS

David Martin
Dr. Teresa Poole
Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS
Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS

Dr. Shelly Simmons Absent

Etta Taplin Present, via teleconference, Ruth, MS

Dylan Baldwin Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS

William Murphy Present, via teleconference, Durham, NC

Aaron Wilson Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS

Chairman Martin announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

# III. Approval of the minutes of the May 5, 2023, Meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development

On a motion from Kim Hubbard, seconded by Dr. Teresa Poole, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the May 5, 2023, Meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development.

# IV. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of May 5, 2023

On a motion from Dr. Teresa Poole, seconded by Etta Taplin, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the hearing subcommittee minutes for May 5, 2023.

### V. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of May 25, 2023

On a motion from Dr. Teresa Jayroe, seconded by Dr. Teresa Poole, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the hearing subcommittee minutes for May 25, 2023.

## VI. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of June 21, 2023

On a motion from Etta Taplin, seconded by Mary Hill-Taylor, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the hearing subcommittee minutes for June 21, 2023.

## VII. Adoption of the Agenda

On a motion from Dylan Baldwin, seconded by Aaron Wilson and Dr. Bernell Kelly, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the agenda.

# VIII. Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Updates (Drs. Cory Murphy and Courtney Van Cleve)

Dr. Cory Murphy presented a high-level overview of shifts within the Office of Teaching and Leading (OTL) in response to the insights and feedback from stakeholders. OTL has launched several initiatives to increase Mississippi Educator workforce quantity and quality. Dr. Murphy explained that Dr. Courtney Van Cleve is now the Executive Director of the Office of Educator Continuum. Dr. Van Cleve shared that the Office of Educator Continuum will work to provide aligned support from educator recruitment to retirement. They aim to develop innovative approaches to current trends in educator workforce development and will strive to inspire Mississippi Education stakeholders to address current educator workforce shortages by facilitating collaboration, providing user friendly tools and keeping a listening ear for potential policy implications.

IX. Approval to establish a qualifying score for the newly revised version of Praxis Subject Assessment: Special Education Foundational Knowledge (Test Code 5355) as recommended by the Ad Hoc Committee of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development (Dr. Cory Murphy)

On a motion from John Howard, seconded by William Hamilton, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the proposed establishment of a qualifying score.

X. Approval to begin the Administrative Procedures Act process: to revise Miss. Admin. Code 7; Part 142: Career and Technical Education Licensure Guidelines to amend licensure Career Pathway, 961 Healthcare and Clinical Services and 989 Polymer Science (Mr. Brett Robinson)

On a motion from Dylan Baldwin, seconded by Aaron Wilson, the Commission voted unanimously to begin the Administrative Procedures Act process.

XI. Approval of iteach Mississippi as an approved Educator Preparation Provider (EPP) non-traditional pathway to teacher licensure (Dr. Debra Burson)

On a motion from Kim Hubbard, seconded by William Murphy, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the proposed non-traditional pathway to teacher licensure.

XII. Approval of ratifications of agreed orders and/or voluntary surrenders (Mr. Scott DeJong)

Mr. Scott DeJong reported on agreed orders being presented for consideration.

On a motion from Dr. Teresa Poole, seconded by Mary Hill-Taylor, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the agreed orders presented for the following educator:

304764 Malorie Robison

## XVII. Adjournment

On a motion by Aaron Wilson, seconded by Dylan Baldwin, the Commission voted unanimously to adjourn at 10:36 a.m.

Approved:

David Martin, Chair

Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and

Development

Cory Murphy, Ph.D., Executive Secretary Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and

Development