## Subcommittee for the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development 4<sup>th</sup> Floor Boardroom, Central High School Building 359 North West Street, Jackson, MS 39201 May 5, 2023

In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-3-2(10) and 25-41-5, a Subcommittee of the members of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development (Commission) met at 1:00 p.m. on May 5, 2023, in the 4<sup>th</sup> Floor Boardroom of the Central High School Building, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi 39201.

Subcommittee Members in Attendance:

Chairman David Martin, Etta Taplin, and

Dr. Teresa Poole

Other Commission Members in Attendance:

Dylan Baldwin, William Murphy, and

Aaron Wilson

**Commission Counsel:** 

Kristi Kennedy, Special Assistant Attorney General

**OEM Counsel:** 

Joseph Runnels, Esq.

Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Personnel in Attendance: Scott DeJong, Director of the Office of Educator Misconduct Tilla Tate, Licensure Investigator for the Office of Educator Misconduct Anissa Stubbs, OEM Administrative Assistant

## Others in Attendance:

Kawuanza Gray, Respondent Tracie Nave, Assistant Principal of Cardozo Middle School Dr. Marvin Grayer, Assistant Superintendent of Middle Schools for Jackson Public School District ("JPSD") Larrisa Moore, Esq., counsel for JPSD

Matters before the Commission Hearing Subcommittee:

## I. In the Matter of Mississippi Educator License No. 197558, Kawuanza Gray

Chairman David Martin called the hearing to order at 1:01 p.m.

After all exhibits were received into evidence and testimony heard, Dr. Teresa Poole moved that the Subcommittee go into closed session to determine the necessity to go into executive session. Etta Taplin seconded the motion and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to go into closed session.

Etta Taplin moved that the Commission Hearing Subcommittee go into executive session for deliberation and findings concerning the license of the above identified Educator. Dr. Teresa Poole seconded the motion, and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to go into executive session. The following individuals remained in the room: Chairman David Martin, Etta Taplin, Dr. Teresa Poole, and Kristi Kennedy. Commissioners Dylan Baldwin, William Murphy, and Aaron Wilson remained to observe as part of their onboarding process as new Commission members, but they did not participate in the deliberations of the Commission Hearing Subcommittee and did not vote.

During Executive Session, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee took the following action:

Etta Taplin moved that the Commission Hearing Subcommittee suspend License No. 197558 held by Kawuanza Gray for the 2023-2024 school year (specifically through June 30, 2024) based on the violation of Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-3-2(12)(a) and 37-9-57 and Standard 10 of the Mississippi Educator Code of Ethics and Standards of Conduct adopted by the Mississippi State Board of Education. Upon submission of a licensure reinstatement application, this license shall be reinstated at the end of the suspension period, after June 30, 2024, in accordance with Miss. Code Ann. § 37-3-2(14)(a) without the necessity of a hearing. Dr. Teresa Poole seconded the motion, and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to suspend License No. 197558 held by Kawuanza Gray for the 2023-2024 school year (specifically through June 30, 2024).

On motion by Etta Taplin, seconded by Dr. Teresa Poole, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to return to an open meeting.

In Open Session, counsel read the decision of the Commission Hearing Subcommittee to those remaining present at the meeting.

Presiding Officer David Martin pronounced the conclusion of the hearing at 2:38 p.m.

## II. Adjournment.

On a motion by Etta Taplin, seconded by Dr. Teresa Poole, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to adjourn for the day at 2:38 p.m.

Approved:

David Martin, Subcommittee Chair Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development Cory Murphy, Ph.D., Executive Secretary Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development