

Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development Regular Teleconference Meeting January 6, 2023 10:00 a.m.

In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-3-2(3) and 25-41-5, the members of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development (Commission) met at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, January 6, 2023, in room 145 located at Woolfolk State Office Building, 501 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201, with some members present via teleconference.

Members Attending:

John HowardMary Hill-TaylorRebecca GrayEtta TaplinDr. Teresa JayroeDr. Bernell KellyDavid MartinDr. Teresa PooleDr. Shelly SimmonsJames CreelKim Hubbard

Members Absent:

William Hamilton

Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Personnel Attending via Teleconference:

Erin Meyer

In Person

Via Teleconference

Dr. Debra Burson

Scott DeJong

Dr. Cory Murphy

Dr. Courtney Van Cleve

Tamika Lipsey

Dawn Tassin

Special Assistant Attorney General Attending:

Jonathan Dennis

I. Call to Order

David Martin called the meeting to order on Friday, January 6, 2023, at 10:00 a.m.

II. Establishment of a Quorum

Jamie Creel Present, via teleconference, Brookhaven, MS Present, via teleconference, Iuka, MS Rebecca Grav William Hamilton Absent Mary Hill-Taylor Present, via teleconference, Bailey, MS John Howard Present, via teleconference, Clarksdale, MS Kim Hubbard Present, Woolfolk Building, Flowood, MS Present, via teleconference, Starkville, MS Dr. Teresa Jayroe Present, via teleconference, Gulfport, MS Dr. Bernell Kelly Present, Woolfolk Building, Jackson, MS **David Martin** Dr. Teresa Poole Present, via teleconference, Hattiesburg, MS Dr. Shelly Simmons Present, via teleconference, Gulfport, MS Present, via teleconference, Ruth, MS Etta Taplin

David Martin announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

III. Approval of the minutes of the November 4, 2022, Meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development

On a motion from John Howard, seconded by Mary Hill-Taylor, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the November 4, 2022, Meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development.

IV. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of November 4, 2022

On a motion from Rebecca Gray, seconded by Mary Hill-Taylor, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the hearing subcommittee minutes for November 4, 2022.

V. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of December 1, 2022

On a motion from James Creel, seconded by Kim Hubbard, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the hearing subcommittee minutes for December 1, 2022.

VI. Adoption of the Agenda

On a motion from Kim Hubbard, seconded by Rebecca Gray, the Commission voted unanimously to adopt the agenda.

VII. Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Updates (Dr. Cory Murphy)

Dr. Cory Murphy presented an overview of the 4 Portals of the newly released MECCA (Mississippi Educator Career Continuum Archive), which is a single sign-on educator workforce information system that serves as a hub to capture the lifecycle of a Mississippi educator from recruitment to retirement.

VIII. Approval to begin the Administrative Procedures Act process: To revise Miss. Admin. Code 7 – 4: Part 4: Licensure Guidelines K-12, to amend certain criteria regarding renewal and reinstatement of a Mississippi educator license (Dr. Cory Murphy)

On a motion from Etta Taplin, seconded by Dr. Teresa Poole, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the proposed changes.

IX. Approval of certain Educator Preparation Providers to offer the Mississippi State Board of Education approved program that leads to a supplemental endorsement in the area of Elementary Education K-6 (Dr. Debra Burson)

At 10:28 a.m., prior to the discussion of Item IX, Dr. Teresa Poole and Dr. Teresa Jayroe recused themselves and left the meeting.

On a motion from Etta Taplin, seconded by Kim Hubbard, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the proposed supplemental endorsement.

At 10:30 a.m., after members voted on Item IX, Dr. Teresa Poole and Dr. Teresa Jayroe rejoined the meeting.

X. Approval to begin the Administrative Procedures Act process: To revise Miss. Admin. Code Title 7: Part 107: 2021 Educator Preparation Provider Process and Performance Guidelines, to amend certain criteria (Dr. Debra Burson)

On a motion from Dr. Teresa Poole, seconded by John Howard, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the proposed amendments.

XI. Approval of ratifications of agreed orders and/or voluntary surrenders (Mr. Scott DeJong)

Mr. Scott DeJong reported on agreed orders being presented for consideration. On a motion from Dr. Bernell Kelly, seconded by Mary Hill-Taylor, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the agreed orders presented for the following educators:

314288 Stephanie Biggs

144546 John Todd Pittman

XII. Approval to host Licensure Commission Member Retreat on Thursday, March 30, 2023, or Friday, March 31, 2023 – Location to be determined (Dr. Cory Murphy)

After member discussion and on a motion form Rebecca Gray, seconded by James Creel, the Commission voted unanimously to host the member retreat on Friday, March 31, 2023, at a location to be determined.

XIII. Adjournment

On a motion by James Creel, seconded by Kim Hubbard, the Commission voted unanimously to adjourn at 10:48 AM.

Approved:

David Martin, Chair

Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development Cory Murphy, Ph.D., Executive Secretary Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development