

Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development Regular Teleconference Meeting September 9, 2022 10:00 a.m.

In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-3-2(3) and 25-41-5, the members of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development (Commission) met at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, September 9, 2022, in room 145 located at Woolfolk State Office Building, 501 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201, with some members present via teleconference.

Members Attending:

William Hamilton Kim Hubbard

David Martin Rebecca Gray Mary Hill-Taylor

Dr. Teresa Jayroe Dr. Teresa Poole

James Creel

John Howard

Dr. Bernell Kelly Dr. Shelly Simmons

Members Absent:

Etta Taplin

Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Personnel Attending via Teleconference:

Dr. Debra Burson

Wendy Clemmons

Erica Coleman

Scott Dejong

Tanya Gipson

Brian McGairty

Dr. Cory Murphy Dr. Courtney Van Cleve

Vanessa Wilbert

Special Assistant Attorney General Attending:

Erin Meyer

I. Call to Order

David Martin called the meeting to order on Friday, September 9, 2022, at 10:01 a.m.

II. Establishment of a Quorum

Present, via teleconference, Brookehaven, MS Jamie Creel Present, via teleconference, Oxford, MS Rebecca Gray Present, via teleconference, Oxford, MS William Hamilton Present, Woolfolk Building, Jackson, MS Mary Hill-Taylor Present, via teleconference, Clarksdale, MS John Howard Present, Woolfolk Building, Jackson, MS Kim Hubbard Present, via teleconference, Starkville, MS Dr. Teresa Jayroe Present, via teleconference, Gulfport, MS Dr. Bernell Kelly Present, Woolfolk Building, Jackson, MS David Martin Present, via teleconference, Hattiesburg, MS Dr. Teresa Poole Present, Woolfolk Building, Jackson, MS Dr. Shelly Simmons Etta Taplin Absent

David Martin announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

III. Approval of the minutes of the July 8, 2022, Meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development

On a motion from Kim Hubbard seconded by Dr. Teresa Jayroe, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the July 8, 2022, Meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development.

IV. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of August 25, 2022

On a motion from Jamie Creel, seconded by Dr. Shelly Simmons, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the hearing subcommittee minutes for August 25, 2022.

V. Adoption of the Agenda

On a motion from Kim Hubbard, seconded by Mary Hill-Taylor, the Commission voted unanimously to adopt the agenda.

VI. Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Updates (Dr. Cory Murphy)

Dr. Murphy announced there are no updates and will come back at the end of the year with formal presentation.

VII. Approval of educator preparation programs as recommended by the Division of Educator Preparation (Dr. Debra Burson)

Dr. Teresa Jayroe recused herself at 10:08a.m.

On a motion from Dr. Bernell Kelly, seconded by John Howard, the Commission voted unanimously to approve proposed changes for Alcorn State University and Blue Mountain College.

On a motion from Mary Hill Taylor, seconded by Kim Hubbard, the Commission voted unanimously to approve proposed modification for Mississippi State University Master's Degree in Educator Leadership.

VIII. Approval of ratifications of agreed orders and/or voluntary surrenders (Mr. Scott Dejong)

Mr. Scott Dejong reported on agreed orders being presented for consideration:

On a motion from John Howard, seconded by Rebecca Gray the Commission voted unanimously to approve the agreed orders presented for the following educators:

197731 Shekia Robertson 297921 Tylyn Griffin

IX. Adjournment

On a motion by Kim Hubbard, seconded by John Howard, the Commission voted unanimously to adjourn at 10:16 AM.

Approved:

David Martin, Chair

Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and

Development

Cory Murphy, Ph.D., Executive Secretary Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development