## Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development South Pointe Business Park Building

Room 420 Clinton, MS 4:30 p.m. May 11, 2016

In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. § 37-3-2(3) and § 25-41-5, the members of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development (Commission) met at 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, May 11, 2016, in Room 420 of the South Pointe Business Park Building, 500 Clinton Center Drive, Clinton, Mississippi.

### Members Attending:

Kenny Goza
Susan McClelland

Rilla Jones

Mary Margaret King

Susan McClelland
Doris Perkins

Pamela Manners Ginger Tedder Cindy Melton

**Members Absent:** 

Shannon Doughty

Kelly Fuller

Patrick Gray

Cylesha Hopkins LaToya Lee

Debra Mays-Jackson

# Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Personnel Attending:

Dr. Paula Vanderford

Rhonda Smith

Brenda Shelby

Crystal Womack

Erin Meyer, Special Assistant Attorney General

#### I. Call to Order

Dr. Cindy Melton, chair of the Commission, called the meeting to order at 4:42 p.m. on Wednesday, May 11, 2016.

#### II. Establishment of a Quorum

A roll call was taken as follows:

Shannon Doughty

Absent

Kelly Fuller

Present

Kenny Goza

Present, via teleconference, Birmingham, AL

Patrick Gray

Absent

Cylesha Hopkins

Absent

Rilla Jones

Present, via teleconference, Corinth, MS

Mary Margaret King Present, via teleconference, New Albany, MS

LaToya Lee Absent

Susan McClelland Present, via teleconference, Oxford, MS Pamela Manners Present, via teleconference, Jackson, MS

Debra Mays- Jackson Absent

Cindy Melton Present, via teleconference, Clinton, MS
Doris Perkins Present, via teleconference, Mendenhall, MS
Ginger Tedder Present, via teleconference, Starkville, MS

Dr. Cindy Melton stated that a quorum is present at the locations stated for the purpose of conducting a meeting through teleconference.

#### III. Adoption of Agenda

On a motion by Ginger Tedder and seconded by Doris Perkins, the Commission unanimously approved the adoption of the agenda.

The votes were as follows:

Members voting aye:

Kenny Goza
Rilla Jones
Mary Margarett King
Susan McClelland
Pamela Manners
Cindy Melton
Doris Perkins
Ginger Tedder

Members Abstaining: None

Members voting nay: None

Members absent:

Shannon Doughty
Kelly Fuller
Patrick Gray
Cylesha Hopkins
LaToya Lee
Debra Mays-Jackson

# IV. Discussion and/or approval of the Office of Elementary Education request for a new Pre-K add-on endorsement for teachers currently licensed to teach Kindergarten

Dr. Cindy Melton introduced the next item on the agenda, which is the discussion and or the approval from the Office of Elementary Education with the request for a pre-k add-on endorsement for teachers who are currently licensed to teach kindergarten. Dr. Melton asked if there were any questions or discussion in reference to the request. Dr. Jill Dent from the Office of Elementary Education was available for questions and discussion via teleconference. There were no questions by the Commission members. Pamela Manners moved to approve the Office of Elementary education request for a new pre-k add-on endorsement for teachers currently licensed to teach kindergarten. Doris Perkins seconded the motion.

The votes were as follows:

Members voting aye:
Kenny Goza
Rilla Jones
Mary Margarett King
Susan McClelland
Pamela Manners
Cindy Melton
Doris Perkins
Ginger Tedder

Members Abstaining: None

Members voting nay: None

Members absent:

Shannon Doughty
Kelly Fuller
Patrick Gray
Cylesha Hopkins
LaToya Lee
Debra Mays-Jackson

## V. Other Business

Dr. Cindy Melton asked if there was any other business to be discussed by MDE or the Commission members. Kenny Goza asked Dr. Melton if there will be any additional response to the Clarion Ledger article. Dr. Paula Vanderford stated that Dr. Carey Wright has prepared an editorial that is in response to the meeting on Friday as well as

the article that was published on today. It has been reviewed and edited and will be published as quickly as possible. Dr. Wright is also expecting to address this issue at the State Board meeting the next day under her 'Superintendent Update'.

In addition, Dr. Vanderford added that prior to the article, there were previous dates laid out during the Commission meeting on May 6, 2016, for the hearing dates. The idea was to avoid state board meetings, accreditation meeting dates, and other future dates that were already on the calendar. One of the things that Dr. Vanderford and the Office of Educator Misconduct wanted to do was to allow Commission members the opportunity to select dates more convenient for them since they were not given the time during the last Commission meeting. Another option provided to the Commission members is, there are four (4) attorney generals available who can be paired on a team certain dates available for teachers and administrators and double up in two (2) locations at the same time to further address the backlog of cases.

Dr. Vanderford stated that she wanted to know the Commission members thoughts and she will have Rhonda Smith to follow up in an e-mail with a recap of the date and additional proposed dates.

Dr. Melton stated she thinks that the way they have been doing the hearing dates has been working great for the Commission members. The Commission agreed that it's a matter of finding the time to be available for hearings that is an issue rather than agreeing on a specific date.

Dr. Vanderford also noted that they are working on a special, non-renewable educator license to take to the State Board for approval that might help districts with the shortage of teachers. In response to this, there may be a need for a special-called teleconference meeting before the June Board meeting, but the Commission members will receive advance notice on the meeting.

#### VI. Adjournment

Dr. Cindy Melton entertained a motion to adjourn. Rilla Jones made a motion and Doris Perkins seconded the motion. The Commission meeting was adjourned at 4:58 p.m.

The votes were as followed:

Members voting aye: Kenny Goza Rilla Jones Mary Margarett King Susan McClelland Pamela Manners Cindy Melton Doris Perkins Ginger Tedder

Members Abstaining: None

Members voting nay: None

Members absent:

Shannon Doughty Kelly Fuller Patrick Gray Cylesha Hopkins LaToya Lee Debra Mays-Jackson

Approved:

Dr. Cindy Melton, Chair

Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and

Development

Dr. Paula Vanderford, Executive Secretary Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development