Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification And Licensure and Development South Pointe Business Park Conference Room Room 433D via Teleconference 4:30 p.m. September 10, 2015

Members Attending via Teleconference:

Shannon Doughty (Gulfport, MS)

Rilla Jones (Booneville, MS)

Cindy Melton (Clinton, MS)

Doris Perkins (Mendenhall, MS)

Kenny Goza (Brookhaven, MS)

Pamela Manners (Biloxi, MS)

Brian Pearse (Gulfport, MS)

Susan McClelland (Oxford, MS)

Member(s) Absent:

Kelly Fuller Robin Herrington Cylesha Hopkins Debra Mays-Jackson Marilyn McMillan Liz Michael

MDE Personnel Attending at MDE:

Cerissa Neal Amy Daniel Crystal Womack

Mike Mulvihill Tonya Gipson

Joseph Runnels, Special Assistant Attorney General

The members of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development met at 4:30 p.m. on Thursday, September 10, 2015, via teleconference pursuant to Section 25-41-5 of the Mississippi Code for the general bimonthly meeting. The location of the meeting available to the public was the South Pointe Business Park, 500 Clinton Center Drive, Clinton, Mississippi.

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Dr. Cindy Melton.

II. Establishment of a Quorum

Cerissa Neal previously announced that a quorum of the Commission was present. The Commission Members met on September 3, 2015. Cerissa Neal noted that there was not quorum, that day with only six members present. She suggested that the Commission Meeting be moved to September 10, 2015, via teleconference for voting since the items presented on September 3, 2015 could only be discussed.

III. Adoption of Agenda

Doris Perkins made the following motion: adopt the agenda for September 10, 2015, Certification Commission meeting. The motion was seconded by Rilla Jones and unanimously approved. The votes were as follows:

Doughty – Yes	Goza – Yes
Jones – Yes	Manners – Yes
Melton – Yes	Pearse – Yes

Perkins – Yes	McClelland – Yes
---------------	------------------

IV. Information/Action Items:

1. A. Approval for Alcorn State University to implement a new master's degree program for Athletic Administration and Coaching that will lead to educator certification in athletic administration upon completion of degree and certification requirements

Rilla Jones made the following motion: approval for Alcorn State University to implement a new master's degree programs for Athletic Administration and Coaching. The motion was seconded by Doris Perkins and unanimously approved. The votes were as follows:

Doughty – Yes	Goza – Yes
Jones – Yes	Manners – Yes
Melton – Yes	Pearse – Yes
Perkins – Yes	McClelland – Yes

B. Approval of request from Mississippi University for Women to implement a new degree program for Child Development leading to a supplemental endorsement for Pre K-K upon completion of degree and certification requirements

Doris Perkins made the following motion: approval for Mississippi University for Women to implement a new approved supplemental endorsement program for Child Development. The motion was seconded by Pamela Manners and unanimously approved. The votes were as follows:

Doughty – Yes	Goza – Yes
Jones – Yes	Manners – Yes
Melton – Yes	Pearse – Yes
Perkins – Yes	McClelland – Yes

- 2. Approval from Office of Secondary Education to modify seven CTE endorsement codes
 - a. Career Pathway: Simulation & Animation Design & Development (988)
 - b. Career Pathway: Agricultural and Natural Resources (990)
 - c. Career Pathway: Agriculture & Environmental Science and Technology (992)
 - d. Vocational Agriculture-Related Program (301)
 - e. Agriculture (302)
 - f. Aquaculture (306)
 - g. Custodial Services (349)
 - h. Small Gas Engines (373)
 - i. Family & Consumer Sciences (non-education) (948)
 - j. Family & Consumer Sciences (education) (949)

Kenny Goza made the following motion: approve the Office of Secondary Education to modify the CTE endorsements.. The motion was seconded by Doris Perkins and unanimously approved. The votes were as follows:

Doughty – Yes	Goza – Yes
Jones – Yes	Manners – Yes
Melton – Yes	Pearse – Yes
Perkins – Yes	McClelland – Yes

3. Approval of Ratification of Voluntary Surrender(s)

Amy Daniel presented the item on September 3, 2015 Commission Meeting. Two educators, Roberta Johnson and Francis Smith-Kemp, surrendered licenses since the last Commission meeting. Mrs. Daniel requested that the Commission ratify the surrenders received by the Office of Educator Misconduct. A proposed Agreed Order between the Commission and educator Melvin Pete also was discussed. In addition, Ms. Daniel discussed an additional voluntary surrender; since the September 3, 2015 meeting:

• Brittany Boisseau, license #252691, was served a Complaint charging her with a violation of Standard 4 of the MS Educator Code of Ethics and admitted that she violated Mississippi Code of 1972 Annotated, as amended: Section 37-3-2 (12)(h) as defined by state law. The voluntary surrender is in effect for a minimum of one year from the date the Commission ratifies the Agreed Order, after which she may petition to the Commission for reinstatement of the license.

Rilla Jones made the following motion: Ratify the voluntary surrender accepted by the Office of Educator Misconduct. The motion was seconded by Doris Perkins and unanimously approved. The votes were as follows:

Doughty – Yes	Goza – Yes
Jones – Yes	Manners – Yes
Melton – Yes	Pearse – Yes
Perkins – Yes	McClelland – Yes

b. **Information Items:**

1. Other Business

Dr. Neal had no other business to discuss.

c. Adjourn

On a motion made by Kenny Goza and seconded by Doris Perkins, the meeting was adjourned. The votes were as follows:

Doughty - Yes	Goza – Yes
Jones – Yes	Manners – Yes
Melton – Yes	Pearse – Yes

Perkins – Yes	McClelland – Yes	
Approved:		
Cindy Melton, Chair	Cerissa Neal, Executive Secretary	
Commission on Teacher and Administrator	Commission on Teacher and Administrator	
Education, Certification and Licensure and	Education, Certification and Licensure and	
Development	Development	