Subcommittee for the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development Woolfolk Building Room 117 501 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201 December 1, 2022

In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-3-2(10) and 25-41-5, a subcommittee of the members of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development ("Commission") met at 1:00 p.m. on December 1, 2022, in Room 117 of the Woolfolk Building, 359 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201.

Members in Attendance:	Jamie Creel, Kim Hubbard, Dr. Teresa Poole
Commission Counsel:	Jonathan Dennis, Special Assistant Attorney General

OEM Counsel:

Joseph Runnels, Esq.

Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Personnel Attending: Tilla Tate, Investigator for the Office of Educator Misconduct (OEM) Scott DeJong, Director for the OEM

Others in Attendance: Amanda Gibson, Educator

Matters before the Subcommittee:

I. Case of Amanda Gibson, Educator License No. 191238

Jonathan Dennis, legal advisor to the Commission Hearing Subcommittee, called the hearing to order at 12:28 p.m.

Joseph Runnels, counsel for OEM, made a request to the Commission Subcommittee for a continuance of this matter until a later agreed upon date. Counsel for Respondent offered no objection.

Jamie Creel made a motion to grant OEM's request for a continuance. Kim Hubbard seconded the motion.

The Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to grant a continuance to OEM.

The presiding officer pronounced the conclusion of the hearing at 12:45 p.m.

II. Case of Markel Milsap, Education License No. 310772

Jonathan Dennis, legal advisor to the Commission Hearing Subcommittee, called the hearing to order at 1:13 p.m.

Due to the nature of the testimony and evidence presented, the hearing was conducted in executive session. Jamie Creel made a motion to conduct the hearing in executive session. Kim Hubbard seconded the motion. After all exhibits were received into evidence and testimony heard, Kim Hubbard moved that the reason for executive session be changed to deliberations. Jamie Creel seconded the motion. The Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to change the purpose of executive session. The following individuals remained in the room: Jamie Creel, Kim Hubbard, Dr. Teresa Poole, and Jonathan Dennis.

On a motion by Kim Hubbard, seconded by Jamie Creel, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to come out of executive session.

During Executive Session, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee took the following action:

Jamie Creel moved that the Commission Hearing Subcommittee suspend Educator License No. **310772**.

Kim Hubbard seconded the motion, and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to suspend Educator License No. **310772**.

In open session, counsel read the decision of the Commission Hearing Subcommittee to the participants.

The presiding officer pronounced the conclusion of the hearing at 2:45 p.m.

III. Agree Orders

Scott DeJong, Director for the Office of Educator Misconduct, presented five proposed Agreed Orders for ratification by the Commission Hearing Subcommittee:

- A. Lauren Ashley Simpson, Educator License No. 304906, Standard 4
- B. Hannah Harris, Educator License No. 296901, Standard 4
- C. Jalen Cortez Dunn, Educator License No. 333390, Standard 4
- D. Chad Garrett, Educator License No. 323946, Standard 4
- E. Brandon Cornelius, Educator License No. 194149, Standard 10

Following the Presentation by OEM, Jamie Creel moved that the Commission Hearing Subcommittee accept and ratify the proposed Agreed Orders. Kim Hubbard seconded the motion and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to accept and ratify the above listed matters.

This matter concluded at 3:15 a.m.

IV. Adjournment.

On a motion by Kim Hubbard, seconded by Jamie Creel, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to adjourn for the day at 3:17 p.m.

Approved:

Dr. Teresa Poole, Subcommittee Chair Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development Cory Murphy, Ph.D., Executive Secretary Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development