Subcommittee for the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development Central High School Senator Grey Ferris Boardroom 359 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201 November 3, 2023

In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-3-2(10) and 25-41-5, a subcommittee of the members of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development ("Commission") met at 1:00 p.m. on November 3, 2023, in Senator Grey Ferris Board Room 4th Floor, 359 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201.

Members in Attendance:

David Martin, Kim Hubbard, and Rebecca Gray

Commission Counsel:

Jennifer Nichols, Special Assistant Attorney General

OEM Counsel:

Joseph Runnels, Esq.

Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Personnel Attending: Tilla Tate, Investigator for the Office of Educator Misconduct (OEM) Scott DeJong, Director for the OEM Dr. Cory Murphy, Associate State Superintendent, Office of Teaching and Leading Erin Meyer, General Counsel

Others in Attendance: Marinda Walker, Educator

Matters before the Subcommittee:

I. Case of Marinda Walker, Educator License No. 192513

Jennifer Nichols, legal advisor to the Commission Hearing Subcommittee, called the hearing to order at 1:06 p.m.

After all exhibits were received into evidence and testimony heard, Kim Hubbard made a motion to go into closed session. Rebecca Gray seconded the motion and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to go into closed session. Kim Hubbard made a motion to go into executive session for the purpose of deliberations and findings concerning the Educator license at issue in the present case. Rebecca Gray seconded the motion and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to go into executive session. The following people remained in the room: David Martin, Kim Hubbard, Rebecca Gray, Jennifer Nichols, and Erin Meyer.

During Executive Session, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee took the following action:

Kim Hubbard moved that the Commission hearing Subcommittee place Mississippi Educator License No. 192513 for Marinda Walker on probation until June 30, 2024. Rebecca Gray seconded the motion, and the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously approved the probation of Respondent's license.

On a motion by Kim Hubbard, seconded by Rebecca Gray, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to come out of executive session.

In open session, counsel read the decision of the Commission Hearing Subcommittee to the participants.

This matter concluded at 4:12 p.m.

II. Agreed Orders

Scott DeJong, Director for the Office of Educator Misconduct, presented nine (9) proposed Agreed Orders for ratification by the Commission Hearing Subcommittee:

- A. Olivia Cowart, Educator License No. 255159 Standard 10
- B. Naomi Porter, Educator License No. 333035 Standard 10
- C. Angela Watkins, Educator License No. 328973 Standard 10
- D. Andrew Lawler, Educator License No. 321858 Standard 10
- E. Katie McGraw, Educator License No. 329443 Standard 10
- F. Louis Henderson, Educator License No. 197946 Standard 4
- G. Ronnie Knox, Educator License No. 319325 Standard 4
- H. Donna Rutherford, Educator License No. 132773 Standard 4
- I. Darius Walker, Educator License No. 251901 Standard 4

III. Adjournment.

On a motion by Rebecca Gray, seconded by Kim Hubbard, the Commission Hearing Subcommittee unanimously voted to adjourn for the day at 4:14 p.m.

Approved:

David Martin, Subcommittee Chair Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development Cory Murphy, Ph.D., Executive Secretary Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development