

Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development Regular Meeting November 3, 2023

10:00 a.m.

In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-3-2(3) and 25-41-5, the members of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development (Commission) met at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, November 3, 2023, in the 4th Floor Board Room located at Central High School Office Building, 359 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201, with some members present via teleconference.

Members Attending:

James Creel

Rebecca Gray

Mary Hill-Taylor

Kim Hubbard

William Hamilton William D Murphy Dr. Teresa Jayroe

Dr. Bernell Kelly

David Martin
Dr. Teresa Poole

Dr. Shelly Simmons

Etta Taplin

Dylan Baldwin

Aaron D. Wilson

Members Absent:

John Howard

Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Personnel Attending:

Dr. Debra Burson

Scott DeJong

Deborah Stoulig Anissa Stubbs Dawn Tassin Lori Hartley

Special Assistant Attorney General Attending:

Jennifer Nichols

I. Call to Order

Chairman David Martin called the meeting to order on Friday, November 3, 2023, at 10:03 a.m.

II. Establishment of a Quorum

James Creel Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS Rebecca Gray Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS William Hamilton Mary Hill-Taylor Present, Choctaw, MS John Howard Absent Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS Kim Hubbard Dr. Teresa Jayroe Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS Dr. Bernell Kelly Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS **David Martin** Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS Dr. Teresa Poole **Dr. Shelly Simmons** Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS Etta Taplin **Dylan Baldwin** Present, Natchez, MS Aaron D. Wilson Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS William D. Murphy Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS

A quorum of the Commission is present at the locations stated for conducting a meeting through in-person and /or teleconference means.

III. Approval of the minutes of the September 8, 2023, meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development.

On a motion from Kim Hubbard, seconded by Dr. Bernell Kelly, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the September 8, 2023, meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development.

IV. Approval of the minutes of the September 14, 2023, Special-Called Meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development.

On a motion from Aaron Wilson, seconded by William Murphy, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the September 14, 2023, Special-Called meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development.

V. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of September 8, 2023

On a motion from Aaron Wilson, seconded by William Murphy, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the September 8, 2023, hearing subcommittee meeting.

VI. Approval of the subcommittee minutes of September 27, 2023

On a motion from Dr. Bernell Kelly, seconded by William Murphy, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the September 27, 2023, subcommittee meeting.

VII. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of October 4, 2023

On a motion from Teresa Poole, seconded by Etta Taplin, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the October 4, 2023, subcommittee meeting.

VIII. Adoption of Agenda

On a motion from Dr. Teresa Jayroe, seconded by William Hamilton, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the agenda.

IX. Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Updates (Dr. Cory Murphy)

Dr. Cory Murphy invited Dr. Courtney Van Cleve to share the recent Teacher Retention Survey results. During the presentation, Dr. Van Cleve stated that Mississippi has put in place several strategies to improve teacher retention: MS RESA training, Office of Educator Continuum which is dedicated solely to support teachers and the post pandemic restart of the Elevate Teachers Conference to celebrate, inspire, and empower teachers. Dr. Van Cleve addressed the clarifying questions posed by a few board members as she wrapped up her presentation.

X. Discussion and/or approval of iteach Mississippi as an Educator Preparation Provider (EPP) to offer a non-traditional pathway to teacher licensure (Dr. Cory Murphy)

On a motion from Jamie Creel, seconded by Etta Taplin, the Commission voted unanimously to table this matter and establish an ad hoc committee to do further research.

XI. Approval of Alcorn State University's initial-level preparation programs as a result of state-standards based educator preparation program reviews and national accreditation decisions (Dr. Debra Burson)

On a motion from Kim Hubbard, seconded by Dr. Bernell Kelly, the Commission voted unanimously to approve Alcorn State University's request.

At 10:49 AM, Dr. Teresa Jayroe stepped out of the meeting.

XII. Approval of Mississippi State University's initial-level preparation programs as a result of state-standards based educator preparation program reviews and national accreditation decisions (Dr. Debra Burson)

On a motion from Jamie Creel, seconded by Mary Hill-Taylor, the Commission voted unanimously to approve Mississippi State University's request.

At 10:53 AM, Dr. Jayroe rejoined the meeting.

XIII. Approval of University of Mississippi's initial-level preparation programs as a result of state-standards based educator preparation program reviews and national accreditation decisions (Dr. Debra Burson)

On a motion from Dr. Teresa Jayroe, seconded by Jamie Creel, the Commission voted unanimously to approve University of Mississippi's request.

XIV. Discussion and/or approval to begin the Administrative Procedures Act process to revise Miss. Admin. Code 7 – 4: Part 4: Licensure Guidelines K-12 to outline provisions for the teaching commitment with the Resident Teacher Licensure (Dr. Courtney Van Cleve)

On a motion from Aaron Wilson, and seconded by Etta Taplin, the Commission voted unanimously to begin the Administrative Procedures Act process.

XV. Approval of ratifications of agreed orders and/or voluntary surrenders (Mr. Scott DeJong)

Mr. Scott DeJong reported on agreed orders being presented for consideration. On a motion by Dr. Teresa Poole, seconded by Jamie Creel, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the agreed orders presented for the following educators:

255159 Olivia Coart 333035 Naomi Porter 328973 Angela Watkins 321858 Andrew Lawler 329443 Katie McGraw 197946 Lewis Henderson 319325 Ronnie Knox 132773 Donna Rutherford 251901 Darius Walker

XVI. Adjournment

On a motion from Kim Hubbard, seconded by William Hamilton, the Commission voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 11:08 a.m.

Approved:

David Martin, Chair

Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development Cory Murphy, PH.D., Executive Secretary Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development