## Minutes of Mississippi Board of Education Meeting

## August 27, 2020

The members of the Mississippi Board of Education met in a Special-Called Board meeting at 1:00 p.m. on Thursday, August 27, 2020, in the 4<sup>th</sup> Floor Boardroom at Central High School, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi via Zoom meeting with Board members. Board members present were: Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman (Central High School, 4<sup>th</sup> Floor Boardroom, Jackson, Mississippi), Dr. Jason S. Dean (Central High School, 4<sup>th</sup> Floor Boardroom, Jackson, Mississippi), Senator Nancy Collins (Tupelo, Mississippi), Dr. John R. Kelly (Gulfport, Mississippi), Dr. Karen J. Elam (Oxford, Mississippi), and Mr. Sean Suggs (Blue Springs, Mississippi). Mr. Omar G. Jamil (Hernando, Mississippi). Dr. Carey M. Wright was present at Central High School, 4<sup>th</sup> Floor Boardroom, Jackson, Mississippi).

- I. Dr. Jason S. Dean, Chair, called the Special-Called Board meeting to order at 1:03 p.m. Dr. Dean noted that cellular telephones and pagers are not permitted during the meeting.
- II. Dr. Dean stated that the Department is not live streaming during the student interviews. Dr. Dean stated that before each student interview the Board will watch their YouTube video and then they will go around the room and introduce themselves to the students.
- III. On a motion by Dr. Karen J. Elam, seconded by Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman, the Board voted 5 to 0 to approve the agenda as presented.
- IV. Dr. Dean reminded the Board members of the competitive process that has taken place to get the Board to this point. Dr. Dean stated on January 31, 2020, 26 students across the state submitted applications to MDE in response to the competitive application process the Board released on December 2, 2019. Of the 26 applications received, 23 applicants met the eligibility requirements and in March, the Ad-Hoc Screening Committee evaluated these applicants, under the leadership of Ms. Aultman. Dr. Dean stated on July 14 and 15, 2020, Dr. Kelly and Ms. Aultman (School Performance and Accountability Subcommittee) interviewed10 semi-finalists. Dr. Dean stated the top two highest scoring students were named finalists of the program.

Dr. Dean stated the two student finalists will be interviewing today for the junior representative position for a term that will begin immediately and will end on April 30, 2022. Dr. Dean stated the responsibilities of the student representative are outlined on the first page of the interview questionnaire in the folders that the Board has been provided. Dr. Dean stated that in addition to the questionnaire that will be used during the interviews, Board members will find the student applications and a student selection form.

Mississippi Board of Education – <u>Minutes</u> Page 2 August 27, 2020

> Dr. Dean stated the interviews will be conducted in one-hour increments and the Board members in the Boardroom will rotate the interview questions as done last year. Dr. Dean stated that the Board will begin each interview by viewing the video that each student submitted as part of the application process. Dr. Dean stated the student will join the interview via Zoom and following the interviews, the Board will have a time for discussion and each member will select one student on the selection form and submit it to Ms. Sonya Amis. Dr. Dean stated the Board members participating virtually should text their student selections to Ms. Amis immediately following the Board discussion. Dr. Dean stated the ballots will be counted during a brief recess and the results will be announced for subsequent vote by the Board. Dr. Dean stated this is the schedule for the interviews.

- Amy Zhang (Starkville Oktibbeha Consolidated School District) 1:00 p.m.
- Christian Dunne (Starkville Oktibbeha Consolidated School District) 2:00 p.m.
- V. The Board discussed the junior student finalists before completing their Student Representative Selection Form.

The meeting recessed for five minutes while the results were compiled. Dr. Dean stated that the Board members participating virtually were to stay online.

- VI. On a motion by Senator Nancy Collins, seconded by Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman, the Board unanimously voted to approve Ms. Amy Zhang of Starkville as the junior student representative whose term will begin immediately and end April 30, 2022.
- VII. On a motion by Dr. John R. Kelly, seconded by Dr. Karen J. Elam, the Board unanimously voted to approve Mr. Christian Dunne of Starkville as the junior student representative alternate.

Dr. Dean thanked Ms. Aultman and Dr. Kelly for their hard work on interviewing all the candidates to narrow the selection down to two student representative finalists. Dr. Dean stated that the Board looked forward to working with the new junior student representative.

Mississippi Board of Education – <u>Minutes</u> Page 3 August 27, 2020

VIII. Adjournment

On a motion by Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman, seconded by Dr. Karen J. Elam, the Board unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 2:41 p.m.

Approved:

Jason S. Dean, Chair / Mississippi Board of Education

w Carey M. W aht

Executive Secretary Mississippi Board of Education