Minutes of Mississippi Board of Education Meeting

February 28, 2018

The members of the Mississippi Board of Education met in a special-called Board meeting at 10:00 a.m. on Wednesday, February 28, 2018, via teleconference pursuant to Section 25-41-5 of the Mississippi Code for the purpose of the meeting is to officially vote for and announce that the regularly scheduled State Board of Education meeting from Thursday, March 15, 2018, to Wednesday, March 21, 2018 at 10:00 a.m. The location of the meeting available to the public was the Central High School Building, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi. Board members present included: Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman (Central High School Building, Suite 311, Jackson, Mississippi), Mr. Buddy Bailey (Brandon, Mississippi), Ms. Kami Bumgarner (Madison, Mississippi), Dr. Jason S. Dean (Madison, Mississippi), Dr. Karen J. Elam (Oxford, Mississippi), Mr. Johnny Franklin (Bolton, Mississippi), and Mr. Charles McClelland (Jackson, Mississippi). Dr. Carey M. Wright was also present at the Central High School Building, Suite 311, Jackson, Mississippi. Board members absent were: Dr. John R. Kelly and Mr. Sean Suggs.

The Board meeting was called to order by Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman, Chair.

Ms. Aultman noted that the meeting of the Board of Education was being held via teleconference pursuant to Section 25-41-5 of the Mississippi Code and that the notice of this meeting made at least five days prior to the meeting included the date, time, place, and purpose of the meeting and identified the location of the meeting available to the public. Ms. Aultman also stated that an audio recording was being made of the meeting and that a quorum of the Board was present at the locations stated for the purpose of conducting a meeting through teleconference means.

On a motion by Mr. Buddy Bailey, seconded by Dr. Karen J. Elam, the Board voted unanimously to approve changing the regularly scheduled March 15, 2018 State Board of Education meeting to March 21, 2018 at 10:00 a.m.

Members voting ave:

Mr. Buddy Bailey

Ms. Kami Bumgarner Dr. Jason S. Dean Dr. Karen J. Elam Mr. Johnny Franklin Mr. Charles McClelland

Members voting nay:

None

Member absent:

Dr. John R. Kelly

Mr. Sean Suggs

On a motion by Mr. Johnny Franklin, seconded by Mr. Buddy Bailey, the Board unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 10:06 a.m.

Mississippi Board of Education – Minutes Page 2 February 28, 2018

Members voting aye:

Mr. Buddy Bailey

Ms. Kami Bumgarner Dr. Jason S. Dean Dr. Karen J. Elam Mr. Johnny Franklin Mr. Charles McClelland

Members voting nay:

None

Member absent:

Dr. John R. Kelly

Mr. Sean Suggs

Approved:

Rosemary G Aultman, Chair Mississippi Board of Education Carey M. Wight Executive Secretary

Mississippi Board of Education