Minutes of Mississippi Board of Education Meeting

May 8, 2014

The members of the Mississippi Board of Education met in a work session at 2:09 p.m. on Thursday, May 8, 2014 via teleconference pursuant to Section 25-41-5 of the Mississippi Code for the purpose of discussing on whether to grant or deny waiver requests by districts for days missed following the Governor's State of Emergency issued on April 27, 2014, as a result of severe weather and tornadoes and to consider going into Execution Session. The location of the meeting available to the public was the 4th Floor Boardroom of the Central High School Building, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi. Board members present were: Dr. O. Wayne Gann (Corinth, Mississippi), Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman (Clinton, Mississippi), Ms. Kami Bumgarner (Madison, Mississippi), Mr. William H. Jones (Petal, Mississippi), Dr. John R. Kelly (Gulfport, Mississippi), Mr. Charles McClelland (Jackson, Mississippi), Mr. Richard Morrison (4th Floor Boardroom, Central High School Building, Jackson, Mississippi), and Mr. Simon F. Weir, II, (driving through Grenada, Mississippi). Dr. Carey M. Wright, State Superintendent, participated in the meeting via teleconference from Columbia, Maryland.

The work session was called to order by Dr. O. Wayne Gann, Chair.

Dr. Gann noted that the meeting of the Board of Education was being held via teleconference pursuant to Section 25-41-5 of the Mississippi Code and that the notice of this meeting made at least five days prior to the meeting included the date, time, place, and purpose of the meeting and identified the location of the meeting available to the public. Dr. Gann also stated that an audio recording was being made of the meeting. Dr. Gann announced that a quorum of the Board was present at the locations stated for the purpose of conducting a meeting through teleconference means.

- I. The meeting was called to order by Dr. O. Wayne Gann, Chair.
- II. On a motion by Mr. Richard Morrison, seconded by Dr. John R. Kelly, the Board voted to approve the agenda as presented by the following vote:

Members voting <u>aye</u> :	Ms. Kami Bumgarner Mr. William H. Jones Dr. John R. Kelly Mr. Charles McClelland Mr. Richard Morrison Mr. Simon F. Weir, II
Member voting present:	Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman
Members voting no:	None
Members absent:	None

Mississippi Board of Education – <u>Minutes</u> Page 2 May 8, 2014

III. Discussion and action on whether to grant or deny waiver requests by districts for days missed following the Governor's State of Emergency issued on April 27, 2014, as a result of severe weather and tornadoes.

Mr. Pat Ross and Dr. Paula Vanderford discussed the requests from school districts for waivers for days missed as a result of severe weather and tornadoes (copy attached). The Board discussed the need for a policy to respond to request by districts for a waiver for operating a school district for less than one hundred eighty (180) days.

On a motion by Mr. Richard Morrison, seconded by Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman, the Board unanimously approved the waiver requests by districts for days missed following the Governor's State of Emergency issued on April 27, 2014, as a result of severe weather and tornadoes based on the fact it is the end of the school year and state testing is almost complete.

Members voting <u>aye</u> :	Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman Ms. Kami Bumgarner Dr. John R. Kelly Mr. Charles McClelland Mr. Simon F. Weir, II
Member abstaining:	Mr. Richard Morrison
Members voting <u>no</u> :	None
Member absent:	Mr. William H. Jones

IV. Motion for Executive Session

On a motion by Dr. John R. Kelly, second by Mr. Richard Morrison, the Board considered making a closed determination of the need to go into Executive Session.

Members voting <u>aye</u> :	Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman Ms. Kami Bumgarner Dr. John R. Kelly Mr. Charles McClelland Mr. Richard Morrison Mr. Simon F. Weir, II
Members voting <u>no</u> :	None
Members absent:	Mr. William H. Jones

Mr. Richard Morrison then moved that the Board go into Execution Session for the purpose of discussion of a strategy session or negotiations with respect to prospective

Mississippi Board of Education – <u>Minutes</u> Page 3 May 8, 2014

litigation in accordance with Mississippi Code Section 25-41-7 (4)(b) of the Mississippi Code. Dr. John R. Kelly seconded the motion, which passed on a vote of 5 to 0.

Members voting <u>aye:</u>	Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman Ms. Kami Bumgarner Dr. John R. Kelly Mr. Charles McClelland Mr. Richard Morrison
Members voting <u>no</u> :	None
Members absent:	Mr. William H. Jones Mr. Simon F. Weir, II

Mr. Richard Morrison stated the following to remain in the Executive Session: Dr. Carey M. Wright, Dr. Kim Benton, Todd Ivey, Washington Cole, Pete Smith, Pat Ross, Jo Ann Malone, Dr. Paula Vanderford, Staci Curry, Dr. Billy Buchanan, Patrice Guilfoyle, Dr. John Porter, Tollie Thigpen, and Kathy Boteler.

Kathy Boteler notified the public that the Board voted to go into Executive Session for the purpose of a strategic session or negotiation with respect to perspective litigation in accordance with Mississippi Code Section 25-41-7 (4)(b).

Minutes of the Executive Session

During Executive Session, the Board discussed a strategic session with respect to prospective litigation in accordance with Mississippi Code Section 25-41-7 (4)(b).

The Board took no action during the Executive Session.

On a motion by Dr. John R. Kelly, seconded by Mr. Richard Morrison, the Board moved to come out of Executive Session.

Members voting <u>aye</u> :	Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman Ms. Kami Bumgarner Dr. John R. Kelly Mr. Charles McClelland Mr. Richard Morrison
Members voting <u>no:</u>	None
Member absent:	Mr. William H. Jones Mr. Simon F. Weir, II

V. On a motion by Mr. Richard Morrison, seconded by Dr. John R. Kelly, the Board unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 3:50 p.m.

Members voting <u>ave</u>: Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman

Mississippi Board of Education – <u>Minutes</u> Page 4 May 8, 2014

> Ms. Kami Bumgarner Dr. John R. Kelly Mr. Charles McClelland Mr. Richard Morrison

Members voting no:

None

Member absent:

Mr. William H. Jones Mr. Simon F. Weir, II

Approved:

Dr. O. Wayne Gann, Chair Mississippi Board of Education

Dr. Carey M. Wright Executive Secretary Mississippi Board of Education