## Minutes of Mississippi Board of Education Meeting

March 5, 2014

The members of the Mississippi Board of Education met in a work session at 1:32 p.m. on Thursday, March 5, 2014 via teleconference pursuant to Section 25-41-5 of the Mississippi Code for the purpose of approving the minutes of the February 20-21, 2014 Board meeting and approving travel for State Board members. The location of the meeting available to the public was the 4<sup>th</sup> Floor Boardroom of the Central High School Building, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi. Board members present were: Dr. O. Wayne Gann (Corinth, Mississippi), Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman (Clinton, Mississippi), Mr. Hal Gage (driving between Vicksburg and Jackson, Mississippi), Dr. John R. Kelly (Gulfport, Mississippi), Mr. Charles McClelland (Jackson, Mississippi), Mr. Richard Morrison (4<sup>th</sup> Floor Boardroom, Central High School Building, Jackson, Mississippi), and Mr. Simon F. Weir, II, (Southaven, Mississippi). Board member absent was: Ms. Kami Bumgarner. Dr. Carey M. Wright, State Superintendent, was present in the 4<sup>th</sup> Floor Boardroom of the Central High School Building, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi.

The work session was called to order by Dr. O. Wayne Gann, Chair.

Dr. Gann noted that the meeting of the Board of Education was being held via teleconference pursuant to Section 25-41-5 of the Mississippi Code and that the notice of this meeting made at least five days prior to the meeting included the date, time, place, and purpose of the meeting and identified the location of the meeting available to the public. Dr. Gann also stated that an audio recording was being made of the meeting. Dr. Gann announced that a quorum of the Board was present at the locations stated for the purpose of conducting a meeting through teleconference means.

Dr. Gann asked for any discussion of the minutes of the meeting on February 20-21, 2014. There was no discussion.

Dr. Gann asked for any travel requests for State Board members. Dr. John R. Kelly stated he needed approval to travel to the annual National Association of State Boards of Education (NASBE) Legislative Policy Conference in Washington, DC on March 13-14, 2014.

## Immediately following the work session

- I. The meeting was called to order by Dr. O. Wayne Gann, Chair.
- II. On a motion by Mr. Richard Morrison, seconded by Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman, the Board voted unanimously to approve the agenda as presented.

Members voting aye:

Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman

Mississippi Board of Education – <u>Minutes</u> Page 2

March 5, 2014

Mr. Hal Gage

Mr. William H. Jones Dr. John R. Kelly

Mr. Charles McClelland Mr. Richard Morrison Mr. Simon F. Weir, II

Members voting no:

None

Member absent:

Ms. Kami Bumgarner

- III. Approval of Action Items
- On a motion by Mr. Richard Morrison, seconded by Dr. John R. Kelly, the Board unanimously approved the minutes of the meeting on February 20-21, 2014 (copy attached).

Members voting ave:

Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman

Mr. Hal Gage

Mr. William H. Jones Dr. John R. Kelly

Mr. Charles McClelland Mr. Richard Morrison Mr. Simon F. Weir, II

Members voting no:

None

Member absent:

Ms. Kami Bumgarner

02. On a motion by Mr. Hal Gage, seconded by Mr. Richard Morrison, the Board unanimously approved for Dr. John R. Kelly to travel to the NASBE Annual Legislative Policy Conference in Washington, DC on March 13-14, 2014.

Members voting aye:

Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman

Mr. Hal Gage

Mr. William H. Jones Dr. John R. Kelly

Mr. Charles McClelland Mr. Richard Morrison Mr. Simon F. Weir, II

Members voting no:

None

Mississippi Board of Education – <u>Minutes</u> Page 3 March 5, 2014

Member absent:

Ms. Kami Bumgarner

IV. On a motion by Mr. Hal Gage, seconded by Mr. Richard Morrison, the Board unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 1:38 p.m.

Members voting aye:

Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman

Mr. Hal Gage

Mr. William H. Jones Dr. John R. Kelly

Mr. Charles McClelland Mr. Richard Morrison Mr. Simon F. Weir, II

Members voting no:

None

Member absent:

Ms. Kami Bumgarner

Approved:

Dr. O. Wayne Gann, Chair

Mississippi Board of Education

Dr. Carey M. Vright

**Executive Secretary** 

Mississippi Board of Education