Minutes of Mississippi Board of Education Meeting

December 11, 2014

The members of the Mississippi Board of Education met at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, December 11, 2014, via teleconference pursuant to Section 25-41-5 of the Mississippi Code for the purpose of continuing the discussion of prospective litigation from the December 3, 2014, meeting. The location of the meeting available to the public was Suite 311 of the Central High School Building, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi. Board members present were: Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman (Clinton, Mississippi), Ms. Kami Bumgarner (Madison, Mississippi), Mr. Johnny Franklin (Bolton, Mississippi), Dr. O. Wayne Gann (Corinth, Mississippi), Mr. William H. Jones (Petal, Mississippi), Dr. John R. Kelly (Gulfport, Mississippi), Mr. Charles McClelland (Jackson, Mississippi), Mr. Richard Morrison (Brandon, Mississippi), and Mr. Danny J. Spreitler (Ridgeland, Mississippi). Dr. Carey M. Wright, State Superintendent, Ms. Sonya Amis, Ms. Kathy Boteler, Mr. Washington Cole, Mr. Todd Ivey, Dr. John Q. Porter, Mr. Pat Ross, Mr. Pete Smith, and Ms. Tamala Matthews were present in Suite 311 of the Central High School Building, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi.

Dr. Kelly noted that the meeting of the Board of Education was being held via teleconference pursuant to Section 25-41-5 of the Mississippi Code and that notice of this meeting, given as required by law, has been posted on the website and in the building. Dr. Kelly stated the notice included the date, time, place and purpose of the meeting and identified the location of the meeting available to the general public as Suite 311 of the Central High School Building, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi. Dr. Kelly also stated that an audio recording was being made of this meeting and minutes of this meeting were recorded.

Dr. Kelly announced that a quorum of the Board was present at the locations stated for the purpose of conducting a meeting through teleconference means.

- I. The meeting was called to order by Dr. John R. Kelly, Chair.
- II. On a motion by Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman, seconded by Mr. Johnny Franklin, the Board voted unanimously to approve the agenda as presented.

Members voting ave:

Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman

Ms. Kami Bumgarner

Mr. Johnny Franklin

Dr. O. Wavne Gann

Mr. William H. Jones

Mr. Charles McClelland

Mr. Richard Morrison

Mr. Danny J. Spreitler

Mississippi Board of Education – <u>Minutes</u> Page 2 December 11, 2014

Members voting no:

None

Members absent:

None

III. Consideration of Executive Session

Mr. Richard Morrison moved that the Board consider making a closed determination of the need to go into Executive Session with respect to prospective litigation in accordance with Mississippi Code Section 25-41-7(4)(b). The motion was seconded by Ms. Kami Bumgarner, and the motion passed on a vote of 8 to 0.

Members voting aye:

Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman

Ms. Kami Bumgarner
Mr. Johnny Franklin
Dr. O. Wayne Gann
Mr. William H. Jones
Mr. Charles McClelland
Mr. Richard Morrison
Mr. Danny J. Spreitler

Members voting no:

None

Members absent:

None

Mr. Richard Morrison then moved that the Board go into Executive Session for the purpose of discussion of a strategy session with respect to prospective litigation involving the Department in accordance with Mississippi Code Section 25-41-7(4)(b). Dr. O. Wayne Gann, seconded the motion, which passed on a vote of 8 to 0.

Members voting ave:

Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman

Ms. Kami Bumgarner
Mr. Johnny Franklin
Dr. O. Wayne Gann
Mr. William H. Jones
Mr. Charles McClelland
Mr. Richard Morrison
Mr. Danny J. Spreitler

Members voting no:

None

Members absent:

None

Minutes of the Executive Session

The Board discussed a strategy session and negotiations with respect to prospective litigation involving the Department in accordance with Mississippi Code Section 25-41-7(4)(b).

The Board took no action during the Executive Session.

On motion by Dr. O. Wayne Gann, seconded by Mr. Richard Morrison, the motion passed on a vote 8 to 0 to come out of Executive Session.

Members voting aye:

Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman

Ms. Kami Bumgarner Mr. Johnny Franklin Dr. O. Wayne Gann Mr. William H. Jones Mr. Charles McClelland Mr. Richard Morrison Mr. Danny J. Spreitler

Members voting no:

None

Members absent:

None

IV. On motion by Mr. Richard Morrison, seconded by Dr. O. Wayne Gann, the Board unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at approximately 11:30 a.m.

Members voting aye:

Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman

Ms. Kami Bumgarner
Mr. Johnny Franklin
Dr. O. Wayne Gann
Mr. William H. Jones
Mr. Charles McClelland
Mr. Richard Morrison
Mr. Danny J. Spreitler

Members voting no:

None

Members absent:

None

Mississippi Board of Education – <u>Minutes</u> Page 4 December 11, 2014

Approved:

Dr. John R. Kelly, Chair

Mississippi Board of Education

Dr. Carey M Wright
Executive Secretary

Mississippi Board of Education