## Minutes of Mississippi Board of Education Meeting

## December 19, 2013

The members of the Mississippi Board of Education met in a work session at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, December 19, 2013 via teleconference pursuant to Section 25-41-5 of the Mississippi Code for the purpose of holding its monthly work session and monthly meeting. The location of the meeting available to the public was the 4<sup>th</sup> Floor Boardroom of the Central High School Building, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi. Board members present were: Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman (4<sup>th</sup> Floor Boardroom, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS), Ms. Kami Bumgarner (Madison, Mississippi), Dr. O. Wayne Gann (4<sup>th</sup> Floor Boardroom, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS), Mr. Hal Gage (Vicksburg, Mississippi), Mr. William H. Jones (Petal, Mississippi), Dr. John R. Kelly (Gulfport, Mississippi), Mr. Charles McClelland (Jackson, MS), and Mr. Simon Weir (Southaven, MS). Dr. Carey M. Wright, State Superintendent, was present at the Central High School Building, Jackson, MS).

The work session was called to order by Dr. O. Wayne Gann, Chair. Dr. Gann noted the statement on the agenda that cellular telephones and pagers are not permitted during the Board meeting.

Dr. O. Wayne Gann welcomed Dr. Laurie Smith from the Governor's Office, Dr. Kathy Grace from the Children's Defense Fund, and Ms. Nancy Loom from The Parent's Campaign.

- 01. Dr. Kim Benton, Ms. Trecina Green, Ms. Donna Hales, and Ms. Robin Lemonis discussed awarding competitive grants to Early Learning Collaborative Councils to support pre-kindergarten programs. Dr. Benton recommended approval.
- 02. Mr. Todd Ivey and Ms. Melissa Barnes discussed the adjusted estimate of the Mississippi Adequate Education Program Base Student Cost for Fiscal Year 2015. Mr. Ivey recommended approval.
- 03. Mr. Ivey and Ms. Barnes discussed the adjusted estimate of the Mississippi Adequate Education Program for Fiscal Year 2015. Mr. Ivey recommended approval.
- 04. Mr. Ivey and Dr. Paula Vanderford discussed nonpublic school accreditation statuses for School Year 2013-2014. Mr. Ivey recommended approval.
- 05. Dr. Gann gave the Board an opportunity to discuss the following consent items:

Mississippi Board of Education – <u>Minutes</u> Page 2 December 19, 2013

- A. Discussion of monthly contracts with former State Employees receiving retirement benefits (Kim Benton)
- B. Discussion of a new school site for the Holly Springs School District (Larry Drawdy)
- C Discussion to establish State Board Policy 5300 Management Information Systems (Has cleared the Administrative Procedures Act process with no public comment) (Todd Ivey)
- D. Report on Personnel Actions (Cassandra Moore)

## Immediately following the work session

- I. The meeting was called to order by Dr. O. Wayne Gann, Chair.
- II. On a motion by Mr. Richard Morrison, seconded by Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman, the Board unanimously approved the minutes of the meeting on November 14-15, 2013.

Members voting ave:

Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman Ms. Kami Bumgarner Mr. Hal Gage Mr. William H. Jones Dr. John R. Kelly Mr. Charles McClelland Mr. Richard Morrison Mr. Simon F. Weir, II

Members voting no: None

III. On a motion by Dr. John R. Kelly, seconded by Mr. Richard Morrison, the Board voted unanimously to approve the agenda as presented.

Members voting ave:

Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman Ms. Kami Bumgarner Mr. Hal Gage Mr. William H. Jones Dr. John R. Kelly Mr. Charles McClelland Mississippi Board of Education – <u>Minutes</u> Page 3 December 19, 2013

> Mr. Richard Morrison Mr. Simon F. Weir, II

Members voting <u>no</u>: None

- IV. Approval of Action Items
- On a motion by Dr. John R. Kelly, seconded by Mr. Hal Gage, the Board unanimously approved to award competitive grants to Early Learning Collaborative Councils to support pre-kindergarten programs (copy attached).
  (Office of Instructional Enhancement and Internal Operations)

Members voting ave:

Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman Ms. Kami Bumgarner Mr. Hal Gage Mr. William H. Jones Dr. John R. Kelly Mr. Charles McClelland Mr. Richard Morrison Mr. Simon F. Weir, II

Members voting <u>no</u>: None

02. On a motion by Mr. Richard Morrison, seconded by Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman, the Board unanimously approved the adjusted estimate of the Mississippi Adequate Education Program Base Student Cost for Fiscal Year 2015 (copy attached).

(Office of Educational Accountability)

Members voting aye:

Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman Ms. Kami Bumgarner Mr. Hal Gage Mr. William H. Jones Dr. John R. Kelly Mr. Charles McClelland Mr. Richard Morrison Mr. Simon F. Weir, II

Members voting <u>no</u>: None

Mississippi Board of Education – <u>Minutes</u> Page 4 December 19, 2013

03. On a motion by Mr. Richard Morrison, seconded by Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman, the Board unanimously approved the adjusted estimate of the Mississippi Adequate Education Program for Fiscal Year 2015 (copy attached). (Office of Educational Accountability)

Members voting aye:

Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman Ms. Kami Bumgarner Mr. Hal Gage Mr. William H. Jones Dr. John R. Kelly Mr. Charles McClelland Mr. Richard Morrison Mr. Simon F. Weir, II

Members voting no: None

04. On a motion by Mr. Richard Morrison, seconded by Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman, the Board unanimously approved nonpublic school accreditation statuses for School Year 2013-2014 (copy attached).
 (Office of Educational Accountability)

Members voting aye:

Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman Ms. Kami Bumgarner Mr. Hal Gage Mr. William H. Jones Dr. John R. Kelly Mr. Charles McClelland Mr. Richard Morrison Mr. Simon F. Weir, II

Members voting <u>no</u>: None

- 05. On a motion by Ms. Kami Bumgarner, seconded by Mr. Simon F. Weir, II, the Board unanimously approved the following consent items (copy attached).
  - A. Approval of monthly contracts with former State Employees receiving retirement benefits
    (Office of Instructional Enhancement and Internal Operations)
  - B. Approval of a new school site for the Holly Springs School District (Office of School Improvement, Oversight and Recovery)

Mississippi Board of Education – <u>Minutes</u> Page 5 December 19, 2013

> C. Approval to establish State Board Policy 5300 – Management Information Systems (Has cleared the Administrative Procedures Act process with no public comment) (Office of Educational Accountability)

Members voting aye:

Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman Ms. Kami Bumgarner Mr. Hal Gage Mr. William H. Jones Dr. John R. Kelly Mr. Charles McClelland Mr. Richard Morrison Mr. Simon F. Weir, II

Members voting <u>no</u>: None

Dr. O. Wayne Gann thanked the Board and the Department for helping to collect \$1,700.00 for needy children this year. The funds helped to adopt 10 angels from The Salvation Army Angel Tree and bought 31 gift cards for children at The Baptist Children's Village.

V. On a motion by Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman, seconded by Mr. Richard Morrison, the Board unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 10:23 a.m.

Members voting ave:

Ms. Rosemary G. Aultman Ms. Kami Bumgarner Mr. Hal Gage Mr. William H. Jones Dr. John R. Kelly Mr. Charles McClelland Mr. Richard Morrison Mr. Simon F. Weir, II

Members voting <u>no</u>: None

Mississippi Board of Education – <u>Minutes</u> Page 6 December 19, 2013

Approved:

Jaine 1 in

Dr. O. Wayne Gann, Chair Mississippi Board of Education

Caner U

Carey M. Wright, Ed.D. Executive Secretary Mississippi Board of Education