

Minutes of the Commission on School Accreditation Teleconference Meeting 359 North West Street Jackson, Mississippi June 4, 2020 11:00 a.m.

The regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation (CSA or Commission) took place at 11:00 a.m. on Thursday, June 4, 2020 via teleconference. The Commission members present in the Senator Grey Ferris Board Room of the Central High School Building, 359 North West Street, Jackson, Mississippi included:

Heather Westerfield, Chair

Attending via teleconference:

Kelle Barfield – Vicksburg, MS Sean Brewer – Madison, MS Sarah Foster – Brookhaven, MS Roy Gill – Gulfport, MS Brian Harvey – Oxford, MS Jefferson Hughes – Collins, MS Michael Lindsey – Pass Christian MS John Mistilis – Oxford, MS Anthony Montgomery – Biloxi, MS Eddie Prather – Tupelo, MS Ingrid Williams – Jackson, MS

The following members did not attend: Dr. Valencia Martin Brad Stevens

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE), Office of Accreditation staff members/representatives present included:

Dr. Paula Vanderford, Chief Accountability Officer Dr. Jo Ann Malone, Executive Secretary Ken Stamps, Office of Accreditation

Also in attendance: Alan Burrow (via teleconference)

Erin Meyer, Special Assistant Attorney General, served as legal counsel to the Commission.

Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES June 4, 2020

### I. Call to Order

Heather Westerfield, Chair of the CSA, opened the Commission meeting and conducted a rollcall of the Commission members.

Ms. Westerfield announced that a quorum of the Commission existed.

Ms. Westerfield called the meeting to order at 11:07 a.m.

### II. Adoption of Agenda

On a motion by Anthony Montgomery, seconded by Jefferson Hughes, the Commission unanimously approved the agenda.

## III. Action: Approval of the minutes of the February 6, 2020 Meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation

On a motion by Jefferson Hughes seconded by Sarah Foster, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the minutes of the February 6, 2020 meeting.

### IV. Discussion: Consideration of request to revise Miss. Admin. Code 7-24: Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, specifically the business rules of the Mississippi Statewide Accountability System, Section 9, Acceleration, regarding the collection of performance measures for dual credit courses (Alan Burrow)

Alan Burrow, Director or District and School Performance, explained the need for the proposed revision to the business rule. Commission members asked Mr. Burrow questions.

### V. Action: Approval to submit request to the State Board of Education to revise Miss. Admin. Code 7-24: Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, specifically the business rules of the Mississippi Statewide Accountability System, Section 9, Acceleration, regarding the collection of performance measures for dual credit courses

On a motion by Brian Harvey, seconded by Michael Lindsey, the Commission unanimously voted to submit request to the State Board of Education to revise Miss. Admin. Code 7-24: Mississippi Public School Accountability Standards, specifically the business rules of the Mississippi Statewide Accountability System, Section 9, Acceleration, regarding the collection of performance measures for dual credit courses.

# VI. Action: Approval to Upgrade the Accreditation Status of the Laurel School District from PROBATION to ACCREDITED

Dr. Jo Ann Malone, Executive Director, Office of Accreditation, explained that the Laurel School District has now cleared all citations on record.

Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES June 4, 2020

On a motion by John Mistilis, seconded by Sarah Foster, the Commission unanimously voted to upgrade the Accreditation Status of the Enterprise School District from PROBATION to ACCREDITED.

## VII. Action: Election of the 2020-2021 Chair and Vice-Chair of the Commission on the School Accreditation

- **A.** On a motion by Brian Harvey, seconded by Kelle Barfield, the Commission unanimously voted to elect Roy Gill as the Chair of the Commission on School Accreditation for 2020-2021.
- **B.** On a motion by Eddie Prather, seconded by Kelle Barfield, the Commission unanimously voted to elect Dr. Valencia Martin as the Vice-Chair of the Commission on School Accreditation for 2020-2021.

### VIII. Action: Approval of meeting dates of the Commission on School Accreditation for the 2020-2021 school year

On a motion by Roy Gill, seconded by Jefferson Hughes, the Commission unanimously voted to approve the meeting dates of the Commission on School Accreditation for the 2020-2021 school year:

August 6, 2020 October 1, 2020 December 3, 2020 February 4, 2021 April 1, 2021 June 3, 2021

### IX. Other Business

Heather Westerfield reminded the Commission that the next regularly scheduled meeting will be Thursday, August 6, 2020.

Dr. Malone thanked Heather Westerfield, Eddie Prather, Sean Brewer, Sarah Foster and Michael Lindsey for their service to the Commission.

### X. Adjournment

On a motion by Sean Brewer, seconded by Eddie Prather, the Commission unanimously voted to adjourn the meeting at 11:38 a.m.

Commission on School Accreditation-MINUTES June 4, 2020

APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION: - 2020 Ď (Year) (Month) (Day) ou Chair of the Commission 0 Executive Secretary of the Commission