

Ensuring a bright future for every child Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education,

Certification, and Licensure and Development

Regular Meeting March 01, 2024 10:00 a.m.

In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-3-2(3) and 25-41-5, the members of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development (Commission) met at 10:00 a.m. on Friday, March 01, 2024, in the 4th Floor Board Room located at Central High School Office Building, 359 N. West Street, Jackson, MS 39201, with some members present via teleconference.

Members Attending:

Dylan Baldwin

Rebecca Gray Mary Hill-Taylor

Kim Hubbard

Dr. Bernell Kelly

David Martin, Chair William D. Murphy

Dr. Teresa Poole

Dr. Shelly Simmons

Etta Taplin Aaron Wilson

Members Absent:

James Creel

John Howard

Dr. Teresa Jayroe

Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Personnel Attending:

Dr. Cory Murphy

Scott DeJong

Lori Hartley

Dr. Paula Vanderford

Dr. Courtney Van Cleve

Tamika Lipsey Dawn Tassin

Special Assistant Attorney General Attending:

Jennifer Nichols

I. Call to Order

Chairman David Martin called the meeting to order on Friday, March 1, 2024, at 10:01 a.m.

II. Establishment of a Quorum

Dylan Baldwin

Present, Tupelo, MS

James Creel

Absent

Rebecca Gray Mary Hill-Taylor Present, Iuka, MS Present, Choctaw, MS

John Howard

Absent

Kim Hubbard

Present, Flowood, MS

Dr. Teresa Jayroe

Absent

Dr. Bernell Kelly

Present, Gulfport, MS

David Martin

Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS

Dr. Teresa Poole

William D. Murphy Present, Greenville, MS Present, Hattiesburg MS

Dr. Shelly Simmons Present, Gulfport, MS

Etta Taplin

Present, Central High School Building, Jackson, MS

Aaron D. Wilson

Present, Sumrall, MS

A quorum of the Commission is present at the locations stated for conducting a meeting through in-person and /or teleconference means.

Approval of the minutes of the January 5, 2024, meeting of the Commission of Teacher III. and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development

On a motion from Etta Taplin, seconded by Aaron Wilson, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the January 5, 2024, meeting of the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification, and Licensure and Development.

IV. Approval of the hearing subcommittee minutes of January 24, 2024

On a motion from Dr. Bernell Kelly, seconded by Kim Hubbard, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the minutes for the January 24, 2024, subcommittee meeting.

V. Adoption of Agenda

On a motion from Etta Taplin, seconded by Mary Hill-Taylor, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the agenda.

Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) Updates (Dr. Cory Murphy) Office of Educator Continuum, Division of Educator Workforce Teacher Shortage Survey Update (Dr. Courtney Van Cleve)

Dr. Van Cleve presented the findings of the Teacher Shortage Survey for the 2023-2024 School Year.

VII. Approval of ratifications of 11 agreed orders and/or voluntary surrenders (Mr. Scott DeJong)

Mr. Scott DeJong reported on agreed orders being presented for consideration. On a motion by Etta Taplin, seconded by William D. Murphy, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the 11 agreed orders presented for the following educators:

Standard 10

257714 Spencer Ganz 297137 Brittany Thomas 272878 Melinda Spille 328508 Melanie Gulledge 323787 Rebecca Scarbrough 302517 Chrystel Casey

321874 Katie Sills

Standard 9 170880 Chuconna Anderson

Standard 4

260362 Dallas Albritton

331380 Annagrace Covington

221656 Alisha Spencer

VIII. Adjournment

On a motion from Etta Taplin, seconded by Aaron Wilson, the Commission voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 10:32 a.m.

Approved:

David Martin, Chair Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and

Development

Cory Murphy, PH.D., Executive Secretary Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development