

Minutes of the Commission on School Accreditation Special-Called Teleconference Meeting Central High School 359 N. West Street, Jackson, MS July 21, 2016 10:00 a.m.

The special-called meeting of the Commission on School Accreditation (CSA or Commission) was held at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, July 21, 2016, in the Fourth (4th) Floor Board Room of the Central High School Building in Jackson, Mississippi. The Commission members present were Sean Brewer, Roy Gill, and Sara Foster. Commission members participating via teleconference included Kenny Bush, Lee Childress, Ann Jones, Michael Lindsey, Mike Miller, John Mistilis, and Eddie Prather. Chuck Blackwell, Valencia Martin, Anthony Montgomery, Rob Tyner, and Heather Westerfield were not present.

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE), Office of District Accreditation staff members present included Dr. J.P. Beaudoin, Chief, Research and Development, Dr. Paula Vanderford, Executive Secretary, Raina Lee, Special Assistant Attorney General, and Brenda Shelby. Other MDE staff members present included Patrice Guilfoyle, Jean Cook, and Jonathan Sanders. Kelly Riley was also present.

I. Call to Order

Lee Childress, Chair of the Commission on School Accreditation (CSA), called the meeting of the Commission to order at 10:04 a.m. Dr. Childress noted that the meeting was being held via teleconference pursuant to Section 25-41-5 of the *Mississippi Code of 1972*, as amended, and that the notice of the meeting made at least five (5) days in advance of this date, included the date, time, place, and purpose of the meeting, and identified the location available to the public (Central High School, Fourth (4th) Floor Board Room, 359 N. West Street, Jackson, Mississippi). Dr. Childress also stated that an audio recording was being made of this meeting, and the minutes would be recorded. A roll call was taken as follows:

Chuck Blackwell
Sean Brewer
Present
Kenny Bush
Lee Childress
Sara Foster
Roy Gill
Absent
Present, via teleconference, Philadelphia, Mississippi
Present, via teleconference, Corinth, Mississippi
Present
Present

Ann Jones Present, via teleconference, Jackson, Mississippi Michael Lindsey Present, via teleconference, Gulfport, Mississippi

Valencia Martin Absent

Michael Miller Present, via teleconference, Pearl, Mississippi John Mistilis Present, via teleconference, Oxford, Mississippi

Anthony Montgomery Absent

Eddie Prather Present, via teleconference, Tupelo, Mississippi

Rob Tyner Absent Heather Westerfield, Absent

Dr. Childress determined that a quorum of the Commission members was present at the locations stated for the purpose of conducting a meeting through teleconference means.

II. Adoption of Agenda

Dr. Childress asked the Commission members to review the agenda they had received. He asked members to identify themselves for the record when making a motion. On a motion by Roy Gill, seconded by Michael Lindsey, the Commission unanimously adopted the agenda.

Members voting aye: Sean Brewer

Kenny Bush Lee Childress Sara Foster Roy Gill Ann Jones Michael Lindsey Mike Miller

Mike Miller John Mistilis Eddie Prather

Members voting <u>nay</u>: None

Members abstaining: None

Members absent: Chuck Blackwell

Valencia Martin

Anthony Montgomery

Rob Tvner

Heather Westerfield

III. Discussion of standards for the Mississippi Assessment Program (MAP) (Dr. J. P. Beaudoin)

Dr. J. P. Beaudoin provided an overview of the standard setting process and procedures conducted during the month of July 2016. He described the research-based process that followed nationally recognized best-practices in the development of recommendations to be presented to the Commission and State Board of Education. Dr. Beaudoin presented the assessment results for English Language Arts (ELA) and Mathematics and discussed the recommended cut scores for the Mississippi Assessment Program (MAP) in ELA, Mathematics grades 3-8, Algebra I, and English II End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments.

IV. Approval of standards for the Mississippi Assessment Program (MAP)

On a motion by Ann Jones, seconded by Mike Miller, the Commission unanimously approved the standards for the Mississippi Assessment Program (MAP).

Members voting aye: Sean Brewer

Kenny Bush
Lee Childress
Sara Foster
Roy Gill
Ann Jones
Michael Lindsey
Mike Miller
John Mistilis
Eddie Prather

Members voting nay: None

Members abstaining: None

Members absent: Chuck Blackwell

Valencia Martin

Anthony Montgomery

Rob Tyner

Heather Westerfield

V. Approval to upgrade the accreditation status of the Perry County School District from PROBATION to ACCREDITED

Dr. Vanderford informed the Commission that the Perry County School District has cleared all deficiencies that resulted in the downgrade of the District's accreditation status. The recommendation of the Office of District Accreditation is to upgrade the District's accreditation status from PROBATION to ACCREDITED.

On a motion by John Mistilis, seconded by Sean Brewer, the Commission unanimously approved the upgrade of accreditation status from PROBATION to ACCREDITED for the Perry County School District.

Members voting aye: Sean Brewer

Kenny Bush Lee Childress Sara Foster Roy Gill Ann Jones Michael Lindsey Mike Miller John Mistilis Eddie Prather

Members voting nay: None

Members abstaining: None

Members absent: Chuck Blackwell

Valencia Martin

Anthony Montgomery

Rob Tyner

Heather Westerfield

XI. Adjournment

On a motion by Eddie Prather, seconded by Roy Gill, the Commission unanimously approved the motion to adjourn at 11:08 a.m.

APPROVED BY THE COMMISSION:

(Month)

(Day)

(Year)

Chair of the Commission

Executive Secretary of the Commission

If you need accommodation(s) due to a disability, contact our office at 601-359-3764.

NOTE: Cellular telephones and pagers must be on silent during the meeting.