## OFFICE OF CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items Consent Agenda October 15, 2020

## OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT MISSISSIPPI SCHOOL FOR MATHEMATICS AND SCIENCE

#### B. <u>Approval of Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science Advisory Board</u> <u>appointments</u>

The Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science (MSMS) advisory board is comprised of eleven (11) members. Membership includes a secondary school principal, a secondary school counselor, a district superintendent, a middle school/elementary representative, an officer of the Mississippi Association for Gifted Children, a non-public/parochial school representative, a MSMS parent of a junior, and four (4) laypersons in accordance with the MSMS Operating Procedures. Each member serves a term for three (3) years with the exception of the parent member who shall serve for the two (2) years that the child remains a student. With the exception of the parent member, members may be reappointed for a single second term. Appointments are made by the State Board of Education from recommendations by the State Superintendent of Education.

• Due to terms expiring, five (5) new members are being recommended.

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached

# **EXISTING MEMBERS**

NAME	CATEGORY	LOCATION COUNTY/CITY	RACE	GENDER	TERM	TERM EXPIRATION		
Dr. Cederick Ellis	Superintendent	Pike County/ McComb School Dist	Black	Male	First	December 2020		
Stefanie Jones	Practicing Secondary School Principal	Lowndes County/ West Lowndes High	Black	Female	First	December 2020		
Paul King	Layperson	Lauderdale County/ Meridian	White	Male	Second	December 2022		
Dr. Debra Dace	Layperson	Sunflower County/ Indianola	Black	Female	Second	December 2022		
Thalita Hosey	Middle/Elementary School	Jones County/ Laurel Middle School	Black	Female	Second	December 2022		
Michael Cox	MS Association of Gifted Children	Humphreys County	White	Male	Second	December 2022		

# **RECOMMEDATION TO APPOINT AS NEW MEMBERS**

NAME	CATEGORY	LOCATION COUNTY/CITY	RACE	GENDER	TERM	TERM EXPIRATION		
Ms. Claire Threatt	Practicing School Counselor	Choctaw County/ Philadelphia	White	Female	First	December 2022		
Ms. Elsie Lockett	Parent	Monroe County/ Aberdeen	Black	Female	First	June 2021		
Dr. Hunter Taylor	Layperson	Lafayette County/ Oxford	White	Male	First	December 2022		
Dr. Christopher Finn	Layperson/Alumni	Coahoma County/ Clarksdale	White	Male	First	December 2022		
Mr. T. Mac Howard	Private School	Leflore County/ Greenwood	White	Male	First	December 2022		

