OFFICE OF CHIEF ACCOUNTABILITY OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items Consent Agenda July 27, 2023

OFFICE OF ACCREDITATION

K. Approval of the appointments to the Commission on School Accreditation

<u>Background Information</u>: Mississippi Code Ann. § 37-17-3 establishes that the Commission on School Accreditation (the Commission) shall consist of three (3) members of the four (4) congressional districts, and three (3) members from the state at large. The purpose and duty of the Commission is to continuously review the standards on accreditation and the enforcement thereof and to make recommendations thereon to the State Board of Education. All appointments shall be made by the State Board of Education upon recommendation of the State Superintendent of Public Education.

The following Commission positions are eligible for appointment and the MDE recommends the following individuals to the fill these positions:

• Two (2) Commission members are eligible for appointment to a second regular term (2023-2027).

Congressional District 1	Brad Stevens Non-Educator Second Regular Term 2023-2027
Congressional District 2	Ingrid Williams Non-Educator Second Regular Term 2023-2027

• One (1) Commission member has completed an unexpired term and is eligible for appointment to a first regular term (2023-2027):

Congressional District 1	Aisha Maxwell
	Principal
	First Regular Term 2023-2027

• Due to the retirement of a Commission members, there is a vacancy for a superintendent to serve an unexpired term (2021-2025):

Congressional District 3 Dr. Tyler Hansford Superintendent Unexpired Term 2021-2025

• Due to the resignation of a Commission members, there is a vacancy for a principal to serve an unexpired term (2020-2024):

Congressional District 3

Dr. Laurin Bailey Principal Unexpired Term 2020-2024

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached