## OFFICE OF CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items Consent Agenda December 17, 2015

## OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT The Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science

B. <u>Approval of Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science (MSMS) Advisory</u>
<u>Board appointments</u>

The Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science (MSMS) advisory board is comprised of eleven (11) members. Membership includes a secondary school principal, a secondary school counselor, a district superintendent, a middle school/elementary representative, an officer of the MS Association for Gifted Children, a non-public/parochial school representative, a MSMS parent of a junior, and four (4) laypersons in accordance with the MSMS Operating Procedures. Each member serves a term for three (3) years with the exception of the parent member who shall serve for the two (2) years that the child remains a student. With the exception of the parent member, members may be reappointed for a single second term. Appointments are made by the State Board of Education from recommendations by the State Superintendent of Education.

 Due to terms expiring, two (2) new members are being recommended.

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached

## **EXISTING MEMBERS**

NAME	CATEGORY	LOCATION COUNTY/CITY	RACE	GENDER	TERM	TERM EXPIRATION		
Dr. Suzanne Bean	Layperson Retired MUW Gifted Professor	Lowndes County/ Columbus	White	Female	First	December 2016		
Dr. Murrell Godfrey	Layperson UM Chemistry Professor	Lafayette County/ Oxford	Black	Male	First	December 2016		
Ms. Carol Paola	MS Association of Gifted Children	Harrison County/ Gulfport	White	Female	Second	December 2016		
Dr. Lee Childress	Superintendent Practicing	Alcorn County/ Corinth	White	Male	Second	December 2016		
Rachel Westbrook	Practicing Counselor	Newton County/ Newton	White	Female	First	December 2017		
Debra Byrd	Layperson	Copiah County/ Wesson	White	Female	First	December 2017		
Jamie Methvin	Parent MSMS Junior	Oktibbeha County/ Starkville	White	Female	First	June 2016		
Mr. Stanley Taylor	Layperson	DeSoto County/ Southaven	Black	Male	First	December 2017		

Scotty Jean-Baptiste	Teacher (Middle/Elem)	Sunflower County/ Ruleville	Black	Male	First	December 2017

## **RECOMMENDATION TO APPOINT AS NEW MEMBERS**

NAME	CATEGORY	LOCATION COUNTY/CITY	RACE	SEX	TERM	TERM EXPIRATION
Chance Theriot	Non-Public Parochial School Representative	Rankin County/ Flowood	White	Male	First	December 2018
Cloyd Garth, Jr.	Practicing Secondary School	Monroe County/ Aberdeen	Black	Male	First	December 2018