OFFICE OF CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items Consent Agenda September 17, 2015

OFFICE OF HEALTHY SCHOOLS

C. Award grants to school districts for school nurses as appropriated by the Mississippi Legislature and identified as the Mary Kirkpatrick-Haskell, Mary Sprayberry School Nurse Program

<u>Purpose</u>: The Mississippi Legislature appropriated funds for the special project identified in House Bill 1536, 2015 Legislative Session, as the Mary Kirkpatrick-Haskell, Mary Sprayberry Act, Public School Nurse Program. This bill directs that the funds be used to support the School Nurse Intervention Program established in Section 37-14-3 of the Mississippi Code. Each year the funds are distributed in the form of competitive grants totaling \$50,000 each. A district may receive more than one award based on need to support multiple clinics. The requirement includes a grant agreement with specific benchmarks for the districts receiving these funds.

Scope of Grant:

• Grant Period: September 17, 2015 - June 30, 2016

Award Amount: \$ 3,600,000

Method of Award: Legislative Mandate

<u>Funding Source</u>: State General Funds (House Bill 1536, 2015 Legislative Session). Transferred from the Mississippi Department of Health via a memorandum of understanding.

Summary of Selection Process:

A competitive selection process was utilized to award the grants. These awards are renewable for 3 years dependent on the continued legislative appropriation.

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached

Mary Kirkpatrick-Haskell-Mary Sprayberry School Nurse Program Grants Fiscal Year 2016

Grantee:	Award Amount
Alcorn County School District**	\$100,000
Amory School District	\$ 50,000
Bay St. Louis-Waveland School District	\$ 50,000
Benton County School District	\$ 50,000
Brookhaven School District	\$ 50,000
Carroll County School District	\$ 50,000
Chickasaw County School District	\$ 50,000
Coffeeville School District	\$ 50,000
Columbia School District**	\$100,000
Corinth School District**	\$100,000
Desoto County School District**	\$100,000
East Tallahatchie**	\$100,000
Forrest County AHS	\$ 50,000
Greene County School District	\$ 50,000
Grenada School District	\$ 50,000
Harrison County School District**	\$100,000
Hazlehurst School District**	\$100,000
Hollandale School District	\$ 50,000
Humphreys County School District**	\$100,000
Jones County School District**	\$100,000
Lamar County School District	\$ 50,000
Lauderdale County School District	\$ 50,000
Long Beach School District	\$ 50,000
Marion County School District**	\$100,000
McComb School District**	\$100,000
Montgomery County School District	\$ 50,000
New Albany School District**	\$100,000
Newton Municipal School District	\$ 50,000
Noxubee County School District	\$ 50,000
Oxford School District	\$ 50,000
Pascagoula-Gautier School District	\$ 50,000
Pearl Public School District**	\$100,000
Pearl River County School District	\$ 50,000
Perry County School District	\$ 50,000
Petal School District**	\$100,000
Poplarville School District**	\$100,000
Quitman Consolidated School District**	\$100,000
Scott County School District**	\$100,000
Simpson County School District	\$ 50,000
Smith County School District	\$ 50,000

South Pike School District	\$100,000
Tishomingo County School District	\$ 50,000
Tupelo Public School District	\$ 50,000
UMMC/Jackson Public and South Delta*	\$150,000
Union County School District	\$ 50,000
Vicksburg-Warren School District**	\$100,000
Water Valley School District	\$ 50,000
West Bolivar School District***	\$ 50,000
West Jasper School District	\$ 50,000
West Tallahatchie School District	\$ 50,000
Winona School District	\$ 50,000

Total Grant Awards for Special Projects \$3,600,000

^{*}UMMC applied on behalf of the Jackson Public Schools, Johnson and Brown Elementary Schools and the South Delta School District. Funds will be awarded directly to UMMC.

^{**}Two clinics in the district are receiving grant awards.

^{***}Replaces award to Benoit due to consolidation.