## OFFICE OF CHIEF SCHOOL PERFORMANCE OFFICER Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items June 19-20, 2014

## OFFICE OF ACCREDITATION

08. Approval of an appointment to the Commission on School Accreditation

The Commission on School Accreditation is composed of fifteen (15) members, with three representatives from each of the five Congressional districts as established at the time the Commission was authorized under MS Code 37-17-3. The membership consists of two classroom teachers, two principals of schools, two school district superintendents, two local school board members, and seven individuals who are not actively engaged in the education profession. The length of a regular term is four years, and each member is eligible to serve for two full consecutive terms. The membership of the Commission shall be appointed by the State Board of Education upon recommendation of the State Superintendent of Education, and all appointments to the Commission shall comply with Section 37-17-3, Mississippi Code of 1972, as amended.

The following Commission position is vacant:

• Due to the resignation of Ted Poore, Principal, there is a vacancy to fulfill the unexpired term for Principal (2012-2016) in Congressional District 2.

Recommendation of the State Superintendent:

Congressional District 2 Bradley Sean Brewer

Principal

Unexpired Term 2012-2016

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached