OFFICE OF QUALITY PROFESSIONALS AND SPECIAL SCHOOLS Summary of State Board of Education Items March 20-21, 2014

OFFICE OF THE MISSISSIPPI TEACHER CENTER

13. Approval of critical shortage subject areas and geographical regions as defined by the Mississippi Legislature for the following programs: Federal Stafford Program, Federal Perkins Loan, Paul C. Douglas Teacher Scholarship Program, Teacher Education Assistance for College and Higher Education (TEACH) Grant Program, Critical Needs Teacher Scholarship Program, and the William Winter Teacher Scholar Loan Program

Background Information:

Annually, the State Board of Education designates critical shortage subject areas and geographical regions. These designations enable participants to receive loan forgiveness or pay back service in designated shortage areas under the Critical Needs Teacher Scholarship Program and the William Winter Teacher Scholar Loan Program.

In addition, the designations enable participants to qualify for deferment of loan repayments under the Federal Stafford Program, to qualify for loan cancellation under the Federal Perkins Loan, reduces recipients teaching obligation under the Paul C. Douglas Teacher Scholarship Program and enables recipients to fulfill their teaching obligation under the TEACH Grant Program.

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached

Mississippi Critical Subject Shortage Areas

Biology Mathematics
Chemistry Physics
French Spanish
German Special Education

Geographic Shortage Areas by School District

Benoit School District Leflore County School District

Canton Public School District Leland School District

Carroll County School District Marshall County School District

Claiborne County School District Montgomery County School District

Clarksdale School District Mound Bayou School District

Cleveland School District Natchez-Adams School District

Coahoma County School District

Coahoma County Agricultural High School

North Bolivar School District

North Panola School District

Copiah County School District Noxubee County School District

Durant Public School District Quitman County School District

East Jasper School District Shaw School District

East Tallahatchie School District

Greene County School District

South Delta School District

South Pike School District

Greenville Public School District Sunflower County School District

Greenwood School District Tate County School District

Hazlehurst City School District Tunica County School District

Hinds County Agricultural High School West Bolivar School District
Hollandale School District West Jasper School District

Holly Springs School District West Tallahatchie School District

Holmes County School District Western Line School District

Humphreys County School District Wilkinson County School District

Indianola School District Yazoo City School District

Jefferson County School District Yazoo County School District

Kemper County School District