### OFFICE OF QUALITY PROFESSIONALS AND SPECIAL SCHOOLS Summary of State Board of Education Agenda Items December 18-19, 2014

## OFFICE OF THE MISSISSIPPI TEACHER CENTER

#### 20. Approval to modify grant awards for the Teacher Incentive Fund (TIF) Grant

<u>Purpose</u>: In 2010, the Mississippi Department of Education was awarded a federal grant. One component of the grant was the development and implementation of a system that would provide financial incentives to eligible licensed personnel for meeting or exceeding growth targets. The amount of awards is determined by the level of growth in each incentive category; therefore, grant modifications vary from school to school.

The grants are being modified to increase funds to pay incentives as outlined in the grant.

#### Scope of Grant:

Current Grant Period:	August 22, 2011 – December 31, 2014	
Modified Grant Period:	August 22, 2011 – December 31, 2015	
Current Award Amount:	\$ 3,581,402.45	
Modification Increase:	\$ 2,428,915.97	
Total Modified Award Amount:	\$ 6,010,318.42	
Method of Award:	Discretionary Grants	
Funding Source: 2010 Teacher Incentive Fund Grant		

Recommendation: Approval

Back-up material attached

# TEACHER INCENTIVE FUND (TIF) SCHOOL DISTRICTS

## **Grantee Modification Increase**

District	School	Modification Increase
Calhoun County School District	Bruce Upper Elementary	\$ 190,443.06
Columbus Municipal School District	Cook Elementary	\$ 299,073.61
Columbus Municipal School District	Franklin Academy	\$ 236,536.35
George County School District	Central Elementary	\$ 264,782.23
Jackson Public School District	Van Winkle Elementary	\$ 190,702.49
Jackson Public School District	Oak Forest Elementary	\$ 190,127.44
Jones County School District	North Jones Elementary	\$ 305,022.83
Simpson County School District	Magee Middle School	\$ 253,296.72
Simpson County School District	Mendenhall Junior High	\$ 236,133.64
Wayne County School District	Buckatunna Elementary	\$ 262,797.60
	TOTAL	\$2,428,915.97